Skip to content

24 little hours…..

March 16, 2010

What a difference a day makes….24 little hours!

I have been struggling with myself the last week or so. I am not sure whether it is because i turn 30 this year and i still have not reached my ultimate goal of having a balanced diet and exercise regime.

Let me take you through yesterday (it was not nice!)… I spent the whole day mentally beating myself up – has anyone else wasted time doing this?  I have leave to use this week so myself and the husband are having a staycation to get all the things in the house done that have been on a list for far too long! My husband had one less day to use than me so i was off on my own yesterday. The plan was to get up and go for a run first thing – that did not happen! I have my 2nd half marathon in less than 7 weeks and i just did not want to run, i got myself so worked up that i text my husband and told him that i am not doing the race. I then felt so sorry for myself all day for 2 reasons

1. I have not took my training seriously this year and have dreaded every run to the point that i have missed lots and have not enjoyed the rest.

2. I wanted to the quit the race…. another thing to add to my list of things that i have not finished.

Husband got home and was brilliant, he laid everything out on the table for me. I had 2 choices, do not do the race but i am not allowed to have any regrets or use the next 7 weeks to get as fit as i can in time for the race (he too is doing the race and has not run as much as he ought to). He said he was going to go out for a run and let me think about it but i must make my decision by the end of the evening. I sat in our room and thought about all the fantastic people i read about in the blog world whilst husband was getting changed. I thought it would take more than a negative attitude and a dooming sense of failure to stop them from doing anything….and then i read Caitlin’s post at Healthy Tipping Point on her Olympic Triathlon that she took part in at the weekend, she had also compiled a video (with the fantastic song ‘All these things i’ve done’ by the Killers added in). Caitlin had a massive fear of open water and wanted to do this to overcome that fear – i watched and i felt quite emotional that i was so fed up with myself when their are people out there who get off their butts and achieve (the quote at the end of the video is amazing!) – Thank you Caitlin for sharing.

So, do you know what i did, i put on my running gear. I was ready waiting by the front door when my husband came downstairs – he didn’t say anything but i could see he was proud of me. We looped the town and i had an amazing run, it was cold and my lungs burnt but i didn’t care i was off my wobbly butt and i was running. At the end of the run, i said to the husband that i can not quit – i am raising money for Parkinson’s Disease and i do not want to miss out on that.

So after a whole day of mentally beating myself up, telling myself that i am useless and will never achieve anything – i ended up going for a run anyway. I have to stop when i get like this and be positive.

24 hours later….

I was woken by my husband at 6:30am with a bowl of museli mixed with light strawberry yogurt and a glass of grapefruit juice – what a fantastic start to the day. As husband was going to the driving range and then going for a run after i said that i was going to go to the gym and we will meet up after. After breakfast i allowed 20 mins for it to settle and then i made the 5 minute walk to the gym. I felt so positive and did some cross training as my legs are a little tight but feel different today, i AM going to achieve and i will NOT fail.

I think i may even go for a little run this evening!

Sorry this blog is a little ‘blah, blah, blah’ – i just had a really rough day yesterday and have done a complete 180 today! 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 4:30 pm

    YAY i am so proud of you!!!! remember to just do YOUR best THIS time around and be proud of whatever you accomplish! you rock.

Leave a Reply

