Skip to content

Loving my Staycation!

March 16, 2010

I am truly loving my staycation now, yesterday was a complete write off but my gorgeous husband has turned that around for me by giving me a gentle kick in the butt, waking me up at 6:30am with breakfast means only one thing…embrace the day ahead and oh boy i did.

After breakfast i went to the gym, i have a happy face as i had just had a great 40 mins cross training session, i only warmed up on the treadmill as my legs felt tight from last nights 5K run and also i absolutely hate running on the dreadmill! I may go out this evening and do my 5K route again (i feel quite excited as i have new batteries for my Garmin so i can start tracking everything again – yay!)

After the gym i completely blitzed the kitchen and living room – don’t you just love having a good tidy up – and it’s exercise, right?

I then popped to the shops in the town i live, i stocked up on a few things in the green grocers which is usually shut when i get home from work so it was nice to get some local produce. I bought the hubby a farmers market Steak & Ale pie – well he has been working hard all day painting the hall!

I wanted to use up some of the things in the fridge so i went for a Mushroom burger, these are new in my local Tesco and thought they looked tasty, the ingredients list is also fine and i can pronounce and know everything that is in my burger;

I included a simple baby spinach with feta and black olives and a mushroom and cucumber with hummus salad. I had the burger in a brown roll and added organic Red Leicester Cheese and Tomato Ketchup.

I loved every mouth full – the burger was really good as it was nice to have a veggie burger that was different to the usual bean burger. The taste and texture reminded me of an onion bhaji, which is not a bad thing in my book as i love them. I put some of the feta in the burger for the last few mouth fulls and it mixed really well. Thank you Tesco for the new veggie range!

Whilst in the green grocers i also picked up this bargain punnet of blueberries (59p!!!!) and knew that i was going to smoothie these bad boys to have with lunch.

I added what was left of my Vanilla Yogurt….

the husband suggested adding cinnamon, so in it went (good choice honey!)…

and finally added a banana for a little added sweetness.

The smoothis was delicious and hit all the spots i wanted it to hit!

What a fantastic nutritious lunch!

Whilst i ate my lunch i had a look at this book that i picked up at the charity shop today, it’s based on the UK series of Supersize vs Superskinny – i like the fact that it is written by Dr Christian Jessen, so the information he is providing is not gimmicky and make sense. There are some lovely simple recipes in the back of the book and at only £2.50 which goes towards the British Heart Foundation, who am i to complain!

I’m looking forward to dinner already…lots of veggies planned and some more wonderful things from the Tesco Vegetarian range to try! See you all later….

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 2:59 pm

    I love Supersize vs Superskinny! It makes me realise that my eating habit aren’t weird at all! There’s a new series on C4 tonight btw (23rd Mar)

Leave a Reply

