Skip to content

You only get one shot…..

March 16, 2010

Whilst i was in the gym earlier, i was listening to the music channel on the TV when a song came on by JLS (group came 2nd on X factor last year) and the words in their song really uplifted my spirits, they went something like this;

You only get one shot
So make it count
You may never get this moment again
The clock is ticking down
It’s the final round
So tell me what it is that’s stopping you now

You’ll never know, unless you try
You’ll only regret, sit here wondering why

Pretty cool lyrics huh?

I stumbled across a very cool link today also, which offers a motivational quote for everyday of the year – you can find the link here

Todays quote is;

 
 

3/16

 
 

“Fortunate is the person who has developed the self-control to steer a straight

course towards his objective in life, without being swayed from his purpose by

either commendation or condemnation.” – Napoleon Hill

I think any health blogger can relate to this quote, we are all either on that straight course or making changes in our life to get onto it, i like this quote – i just need to concentrate on not getting swayed from my purpose.

I may put an inspirational/motivational quote on my blog each morning and then on my last post of the day see if i made any positive changes to my life because of the quote….hmm think i may think about this one-sounds like a fun challenge?

I hope if anyone is reading this that you are enjoying my blog, as you can see my fur baby Foxy is not too bothered and prefers to bury her head in my lap!

 

For dinner i wanted more veggies – i can’t get enough of them at the moment – i opted for roasted onion, mushroom and brocolli;

I also had 2 Tesco Cheese & Leek sausages oven baked;

Whilst waiting for dinner to cook, i had a lychee – this one was so sweet and floral tasting, just how i like them – yum!

The finished meal was delicious, i also stole a bit of husbands mash potato as it looked so nice. The ‘sausages’ again like the burger did not disappoint. I appreciate when the supermarket caters for us vegetarians!

For dessert i made something out of my new book that i got from the charity shop today ‘hot bananas with orange and rum’

It was so simple to make, you slice one banana and add it to a small frying pan (i used a smidge of butter), then add a tbsp of orange juice, 1 tspn rum (i used sailor jerrys rum) and a tspn of demerera sugar. Let the pan heat and ensure the banana is covered with sauce. Once the sauce turns into a syrup consistency…serve!

I drizzled it over Cart de’or Vanilla icecream and it didn’t dissapoint.

Now i’m off to bed to snuggle with this little lady and the husband – good night all x

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:12 pm

    Haha I started singing that song when I saw the blog title. They are good lyrics 🙂 I’m also loving a song by Gabriella Cilmi called ‘On a mission’. Great for when you need a little extra boost of energy!

    • March 17, 2010 3:35 pm

      I will have to check out that song, i love songs that can push you that little bit more!

  2. March 16, 2010 10:55 pm

    My cat loooooves getting on my lap when I’m trying to type, but she actually hits buttons on the keyboard. It makes for serious typos!

    • March 17, 2010 3:37 pm

      Cool – a typing cat – now that is something that would make great viewing on youtube! LOL

      Trouble is with Foxy she only has her 2 fang teeth so dribbles all over me and the keyboard, but she is gorgeous and it’s nothing a towel can’t fix!

  3. fitandfortysomething permalink
    March 17, 2010 12:48 am

    your kitty is so cute…..i have never tried the cheese and leek sausages they sound great!

    • March 17, 2010 10:17 pm

      The ‘sausages’ were really nice and i will be having them again soon – i may try and make my own when i feel a little braver!

Leave a Reply

