Skip to content

Re-evaluation – someone should write a book on it!

March 21, 2010

This past week whilst i have been on staycation i have been re-evaluating myself and as i said in my post last night, i have been in a bit of a funk. This week has given me the chance to figure out what is wrong…it all boils down to the half marathon that i am running 6 weeks today –

THE PROBLEM:

i basically do not want to do the half. My heart is not in the training, i feel like life took over from my training and now i am panicking about it – BIG TIME!

Because i am pushing myself harder than i should, i am getting bad ankle and back pain. I feel stressed about my runs as i have not given myself enough time to enjoy them, i dread each and every run i go on, by the end of the run i am filled with negative thoughts due to beating myself up mentally the whole time i am pounding the pavement ‘you are no good!’, ‘You have not took your training seriously’, ‘what are you trying to prove?’

Exactly, what am i trying to prove? I ran the half marathon last year so i know i am capable, so why is it worth torturing myself each run and risk injury to myself in the process?

THE SOLUTION:

Simple – don’t put yourself in this situation any longer! Does it mean i will never run again?…NO! Does it mean i will not get fit?…NO! (I am already booking myself in to all my fitness classes that i love next week). By doing this i am NOT quitting, i am just giving myself time to enjoy running again.

It’s almost like running and I have been forced onto a blind date these past few months, and to be honest we have not been getting on! Now if i was introduced to running on a fun level and got to know running better over time, then i think we are going to have a great friendship!

I thought i was going to be upset by deciding not to do the half – but it feels right. I feel i can get fit the fun way and go out for runs when i want not because the schedule tells me i have to!

I found this affirmation on the net today and feel like a MASSIVE weight has been lifted off my shoulders – NO MORE STRESS;

Have you ever backed out of anything because it feels like the right thing to do?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 10:14 am

    I love that affirmation- I may have to steal it! I think you are absolutely doing the right thing. There are plenty of things that I have walked away from. Sometimes it takes more strength to quit than to stick something out. I walked away from a job that was ruining my health last year, I had a very stressful special needs class and a very unsupportive headteacher, but I didn’t do it soon enough. As a result I ended up being signed off work for a long time and I still find myself getting stressed too easily.
    Plus you definitely don’t want the fun to get sucked out of a perfectly good hobby! Have a great Sunday!

  2. March 21, 2010 12:57 pm

    You can do it! I totally am not a runner and when I set myself up to do a recent 10 mile run I was like ‘what the?” I hadn’t even trained for it. Then my boxing coach gave me the confidence to give it a shot (sans training) and I did it, without even stopping (and I am not a naturally fit girl). I think some people set themselves up to be perfect and to achieve too much then they just give up. Why not do it and take the pressure off yourself by just saying it is a training run, and then you might surprise yourself???

    • March 31, 2010 1:23 pm

      Thank you for stopping by my blog, you will be happy to know that i have decided to continue training for my half marathon, i just wanted to say thank you for your encouragement. I actually ran 8.6 miles last Sunday non stop and i still have just under 5 weeks to go until the race. You were so right in what you said in your comment, i was setting myself up to be perfect (i guess because i ran the same race last year) and put way too much pressure on myself. I treat each run now as it is, no pressure. I will finish the half on 2nd May, i may not be the fastest but i think i may be the proudest for not giving up x

  3. March 21, 2010 12:58 pm

    PS you can totally run without injury. You need to get hold of this book “Born to Run” have you heard about it?

Leave a Reply

