Skip to content

Running in the rain…

March 24, 2010

Sorry for the late post for yesterday and not replying to your comments yet, my internet was not playing ball last night so was unable to post.

Yesterday i was again in another massive rush in the morning (no surprise there!) Everything was going fine and i was on time but then i realised i needed to get the DVD back that we had rented as i was going to be unable to do it in the evening due to going to a friends after work for a run, so off i dashed!

I had to skip breakfast – bad girl! But did have a sugar filled, processed imitation nutrigrain bar (as per yesterday) in the car on the way to work.

Lunch was a lot better, i had prepared this the night before. It was a raw salad/veggie mix, my salad included;

  • broccoli
  • red pepper
  • black olives
  • carrots
  • cherry tomatoes
  • seriously strong cheddar

I also took a little tub of hummus to dip the veggies in and a little bit of left over pesto pasta from the day before – this was fantastic for fueling my run.

In the afernoon i had a couple of handfuls of fruit and nuts to keep me fueled, i always have a slump about 2:30-3pm ish?

After work i drove to my friend Kirstie’s house, we have been friends for over 10 years and met at uni, we are so lucky that we only live 20 mins from each other. Kirstie was my bridesmaid and is a fantastic friend – she is a secondary school maths teacher (she deserves a medal!) and is completely mental!

The weather was horrid but we ran just under 3 miles in 25 minutes, the route she took me on was quite hilly, my legs still ached from aerobics but the running did loosen them a little. Don’t we look good considering we have been for a run?!

Kirstie has the most gorgeous long haired cat called Mia, she is such a pretty girl…

After leaving Kirsties i got home about 8:45pm ish, the husband had been out running too so popped something quick in the oven, fish and chips! Perfect, we both didn’t have time to cook a full meal so this was the next best thing. We also had baked beans, i had a dollop of BBQ sauce, pickled onions and a piece of bread and butter (i can’t have chips without having a chip butty!)

Well sorry about the quick post…i’ve got to get ready for work. I will reply to your comments later, i promise.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 11:25 am

    Sometime fish & chips is the best quick meal ever!! I have been longing for shop brought fish & chips for AGES as we usually have frozen stuff. But that is equally as nice, especially with baked beans, yum!

  2. March 24, 2010 6:24 pm

    I couldn’t survive without breakfast! Well no, that’s not true, I suppose I could make it till snack time. 😉 You do both look pretty good after running- I would be looking a more purple/beetroot colour!

    • March 31, 2010 12:53 pm

      I am a beetroot head normally, i definately was on Sunday when i ran 8.6 miles!! I think i may have my MOJO back! WOO HOO !

  3. March 25, 2010 12:53 am

    You’re brave to run in bad weather! I’m a wimp, I’ll admit, I am definitely a warm weather runner!
    Your lunch looked delicious!

    • March 31, 2010 12:52 pm

      I’m a wimp too! It is only because i was running with a friend that i went outside for a run – I’m normally in the gym with everyone else watching the people outside getting wet! LOL

  4. March 30, 2010 11:50 pm

    Good for you running in the rain! I am SUCH a wuss. If it’s starts raining while I’m already out running, I’m okay with it. But if it’s already raining, I just won’t go out in the first place. Ick.

    • March 31, 2010 12:50 pm

      Last year i got caught out in the rain whilst out on a run, i was miles away from home and it poured down. It actually was very refreshing! LOL! I absolutely agree with you though, if it is raining before i want to go for a run i end up in the gym instead normally.

Leave a Reply

