Skip to content

Naughty Internet!

March 31, 2010

I have been in turmoil….no internet for almost a week! What does that mean?…no blogging, even worse i have not been able to keep up with other peoples blogs either 😦

I apologise if you have been following my blog, but i promise i am back on track now as it is all fixed! YAY!

The one thing i did find when i was not blogging was the urge to eat bad food because…who would know? I can’t blog about it so it would be my little secret, but i have been good – really good actually!

A funny thing has happened to me, since i decided to quit the half marathon just over a week ago all i have wanted to do is prove to myself that actually i can do this. It was like i took a personal pressure off myself as i was getting all worked up about the training and ended up putting my trainers on and going for a run! What is that all about?

My friend Kirstie that i have known since Uni and was my bridesmaid at my wedding was really understanding when i initially told her that i was not going to race – she said something that struck a chord though, she said ‘I know what you mean, i can think of 17 reasons for not going out running and can only think of 1 reason to go out running – I have too!’, as she laughed, i realised that i was feeling the same. The reasons for not running outwayed the reasons to run but maybe everybody feels like this.

So i think i blogged about my run with Kirstie in the rain last Tuesday, i also did a short run in the gym on Friday after work as the weather was – surprise, surprise – rubbish! I also commited to join Kirstie for a long run on Sunday (no matter the weather), i then had to decide definately whether i was going to run or not.

The scheduled run was 7 miles, as i have not been commited to the training plan, this would be a leap from 4 miles!

We ran along the canal, which is at the estuary of Exeter on the coast. I really wish i took my camera but the weather forcast was meant to be torrential rain. It actually turned out to be really nice, we ran from the pub Double Locks to another pub Turf Locks and back, we actually ran 8.6 miles! And i can honestly say that i ran the whole way. I had warned Kirstie and her friend that i may need to have walk breaks as they were faster than me and fitter but i managed to keep up.

After we went into the Double Locks pub for a well deserved drink and meal, we enjoyed watching Kirstie carry out her stretching exercises…

I also enjoyed a Cliff Energy Block and a gulp of cider, i was driving so did not have much. I then chomped through Scampi and Chips, i felt so good that i did not give up and remembered after the run why enjoyed the challenges of running – i think i had forgot.

When i got home the hubby was really proud of me (I love this guy so much you know?) he ran me a lovely radox bubble bath to rest my tired but happy muscles.

So Monday i walked around the office like John Wayne, my legs hurt but in a good way. I decided to rest that evening and do my 2 mile scheduled run Tuesday.

So yesterday, i put all my running gear in the car and on the way home from work thought that rather than go to the gym, i would run outside as the weather was actually alright. As i parked in the car park though, i saw this…

A BIG black cloud coming for me….fast! I ran down to the gym as i could see the rain coming.

I ran my 2 miles at the gym, my knees were a little sore still but not too bad and also did 20 mins on a random setting on the recline bike – my legs felt strong.

I was starving on the walk back home so finally i tried my over priced Clif Bar, it was really tasty and wish they were cheaper. The texture was really chewy and had a fruity taste with a hint of chocolate, i actually heard my stomach saying thank you for this lovely treat, but at £1.49 a bar – i will not be purchasing often (Does anyone know where you can buy them cheaper in the UK?)

When i got home i wanted to get creative with these….

Black Turtle Beans. I have been looking for tinned black beans everywhere with no luck so bought these in Tesco instead. They were soaked all day yesterday and then boiled up for 10 mins so i could make these….

Black Bean Burgers. In my burgers i mashed together;

  • Black Turtle Beans
  • Red Onion
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Corriander
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Egg

These burgers were delicious and sooooo filling. I had 2 burgers, one in a wholemeal muffin with BBQ sauce, strong cheddar and hummus, the 2nd burger i had with just ketchup, i finished off the meal with raw green beans and a dollop of hummus…bootiful!

So i will be back on track from today…thank you for sticking with me x

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 1:22 pm

    Hi Amy, thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m glad your internet is fixed, it must have been so annoying! I so understand what you mean about wanting to eat badly when your not blogging. You don’t feel that people are watching you and they’ll never know! Well done for doing your run.It must be so much better now there’s no pressure involved. I did a 2.5 mile run on Sat and have been walking around like John Wayne since then!! Helen
    PS, your hubby is so sweet!

  2. March 31, 2010 4:56 pm

    Aw well done! How hilarious to stretch in the middle of a pub, good on her! I get embarrassed stretching at the gym cause I don’t want to stick my bum up in the air!

    • March 31, 2010 9:22 pm

      ha ha and me, some people really go to town in my gym with their stretching, i had one bloke literally stretching his butt about 20cm from my face – not good!

  3. March 31, 2010 10:20 pm

    hey girl!! you are soo sweet! GAH that bath loooks SOOOO nice! i LOVE baths-perfect for sore muscles!

Leave a Reply

