Skip to content

2 Green Monsters in 1 Day!

April 2, 2010

Today i have had a day of revision as i have my cabin crew yearly exams next week, i wanted to start my day with a caffeine kick so i had one of my individual filter coffees. The husband does not drink hot drinks so it is not really worth me purchasing a coffee maker, i get these from Tesco and they are ideal…

As i have about a trillion eggs in my fridge, i used 2 of them and had simple scramble egg for breakfast.

After a few hours of revision, i read over a few blogs to take a break. I read on Caitlins blog (Healthy Tipping Point) about the cherry bomb green monster that she made….i wanted one! I just kept craving this so i gave in and went to the shops to buy some supplies. Firstly, i could not find fresh cherries anywhere, so i thought i would go to Jullian Grave to see if i could pick up dried cherries, no such luck! The only thing that i could find was glace cherries (which i love!) so bought them instead! I also picked up a bag of baby leaf spinach and fairtrade drinking chocolate from the co-op (it had less sugar in than nesquick which is designed for kids??!!!)

Before i forget, whilst in Jullian Grave i picked up some snacks to try, i bought a Nakd – cocoa loco bar and 3 Fruitina 100% real fruit bars.

I ate one of the fruit bars whilst i made my monster, it was pretty good and will be an excellent snack when i need a sweet fix.

Now, back to my cherry bomb green monster – i put 2 massive handfuls of spinach into my blending cup, 8 glace cherries, 2 teaspoons of cocoa powder and approx 250ml of skimmed milk…. 

I wizzed it all together using my hand held blender to create my first ever cherry bomb green monster…

It was AMAZING, dessert in a glass! and to think it is giving me all that iron now that i am a vegetarian.

I had my monster with left over stuffed pasta from last night and some more spinach, a dollop of hummus and some Cathedral City Lighter grated cheese.

To keep me smiling through my afternoon of revision, i had a little afternoon delight aka hot chocolate and a slice of MIL’s home made easter cake – yum!

As i am a woman – it means that i can multi task 😉 so whilst i was revising i managed to watch New Moon (again!) and Dirty Dancing! Like i said in my last post, i have so much energy at the moment and i can only think that it is because of what i am eating, so hence why i had green monster number 2!!!! I just wanted the nutrients.

This time i mixed 2 handfuls of spinach with some frozen mixed berried and skimmed milk…

The berries are own brand Tesco frozen variety, so saved me alot compared to if i bought all the fruit separately.

A couple of minutes of the hand blender and green monster 2 was created. I only consumed half and have put the rest in the fridge for breakfast tomorrow.

Dinner was like groundhog day, left over pasta, raw spinach, raw broccoli and a dollop of hummus & a slice of cheese, i also stole 2 slices of the husbands garlic bread!

normally the stuffed pasta would have been one meal for me but now that i have changed my eating habits and incorporate greens into my meals, it’s lasted me 3 meals – who said healthy eating had to be expensive?

I am quite excited because tomorrow i am going home to Birmingham to visit family and we are all going out for a proper Brummie curry! See you tomorrow x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 9:23 am

    What does the symbol on the bottom of your blending cup mean? At first I thought it was ‘no bicycles’ then I thought ‘no bras’ but I’m pretty sure I would be wrong on both guesses! I wanted to try a cherry chocolate bomb shake too, but also haven’t been able to find cherries. I think I might by frozen raspberries and make a frozen raspberry bomb 🙂 Good luck on your exams, are you currently working as cabin crew? I was convinced you worked in an office but I don’t know why!

    • April 4, 2010 9:36 pm

      Ha ha – i have just had a look at the photo of the measuring cup and i agree it does look like a bicycle or bra!! I will check it tomorrow and let you know what is actually on it – how funny! In the mean time i will refrain from putting my bra in the cup until i check the warning out!

      Let me know how you get on with the raspberry flavoured bomb – that would be amazing too i reckon.

      Thank you for the good luck message – you are right though i am office based, sorry if i have confused you. I am a Cabin Crew Safety Manager but i stay in check as cabin crew for my own benefit, it allows me to go flying to do safety audits on procedures etc, it is also a fantastic excuse for getting out of the office now and again, so i fly as operating crew approx one week every few months, i really enjoy it in small doses. I am flying for a week in April, it will kill me getting up at 04:30am for work, i love my bed! So 95% of the time i am in the office. The downside of this though is i have to go through 3 days of exams like all the other cabin crew every year to stay in check and be refreshed, i put added pressure on myself as i write most of the procedures so i really should know it all already 😉

  2. April 5, 2010 6:50 pm

    Thanks for answering my question! I didn’t make a raspberry bomb yet as I couldn’t find frozen, or fresh, raspberries but I did make a stawberry and banana green monster. Was tempted to put cocoa powder in but I was worried it would spoil it as it already tasted so delicious! I think I’ll try the garlic mushrooms this week. I will let you know!

  3. October 28, 2010 11:03 am

    i think that we should focus more on healthy eating to avoid diabetes and cardiovascular diseases~~’

  4. February 6, 2011 5:00 pm

    ~~” that seems to be a great topic, i really love it *`-

  5. Ronnie Lueder permalink
    October 4, 2012 8:28 am

    Phenylalanine is necessary for the neurotransmitter production in our brain. It also helps with anxiety and depression by synthesizing serotonin which calms the mind and makes us feel good. *.:””

    Enjoy your weekend!
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

  6. Larry Yancey permalink
    March 24, 2013 4:54 pm

    The body changes phenylalanine into tyrosine, another amino acid that’s needed to make proteins, brain chemicals, including L-dopa, epinephrine, and norepinephrine, and thyroid hormones. Because norepinephrine affects mood, different forms of phenylalanine have been proposed to treat depression. Symptoms of phenylalanine deficiency include confusion, lack of energy, depression, decreased alertness, memory problems, and lack of appetite.’

    Remember to view our new web blog
    <'http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/canker-sore-treatment/

Leave a Reply

