Skip to content

Raw Veggies ROCK!

April 2, 2010

Yesterday, for breakfast i was craving carbs, so i ate the last of my wholemeal muffin with clover, washed down with OJ (sorry had to use old photo as forgot to take a new photo – doh!)

I was already looking forward to lunch time straight after breakfast because i had left overs!! Todays lunch consisted of my last black bean burger and 1/3 of the aubergine bake i made the previous night. I also took BBQ sauce and hummus to mix in the yummy mish mash…oh and i also borrowed (stole) 3 roast potatoes that my husband had left from his meal the previous night….sshhh don’t tell him!

I also took a selection of fruit to work which i ate throughout the day…. an apple, pear and plum.

I’m having a serious issue at work with the free hot drink vending machine, through laziness it is easier for me to press a button and have a dried milk with a teaspoon of suger cup of tea (it actually is a gross cuppa too!), than take my mug to the hot water machine pull down on a lever to make a green tea….next week i am only going to allow myself one cup of easy tea and then it’s green/herbal tea from then on.

When i got home, i received this in the post….

I had enquired with whole earth foods where they sold their amazing products near where i live, not only did they take the time to send me lots of information where i can purchase their products they also sent £3 of vouchers – thank you very much! I am going to try a few of their products and review them soon.

I just did not know what to have for dinner, i decided to freeze the last third of my aubergine bake. So after looking in the fridge and then the cupboard, then the freezer and back to the fridge, i decided i wanted something raw and green, i just had to go with my craving. But before i go into my eats, i just wanted to let you all know how great i am feeling at the moment, my energy levels are through the roof! I think it is because of all the great nutritious food that i have been eating. I have to keep this up!

Ok, for dinner i went for… i love this tortelloni!

with…

…I just can not get enough of Loyd Grossman sauces, they are so worth the little extra, but when you know you are getting quality, i just can not complain!

As well as the pasta , i cut up some brocolli and brussel sprouts and had them raw. I topped them with balsamic vinegar and had a little hummus on the side (not pictured)…

It was so delicious and i am really digging the raw veg, not only is it quicker to prepare – the taste of the veggies is so much better.

After dinner, myself, the husband and Foxy just chilled out….this is Foxy’s chilled out seating position…strange cat!

Catch you all later with todays eats x

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 1:23 pm

    Haha your cat cannot possibly be comfortable! Well done you for eating so well, I really try but find it so tough at times. I could eat fruit all day but struggle with the veggies. What do you suggest I do with mushrooms? What kind should I try first? x

    • April 4, 2010 9:44 pm

      Have you tried any mushroom recipes yet? A simple one is frying them with a bit of butter and garlic – yummy. But if you are feeling a bit advenurous, you could try buying the large flat mushrooms, browning them in a frying pan, then wilting down some baby spinach, add it to the top of the mushroom and add a slice of blue cheese and bake in the oven. If you want to add a little more extravegance, you could wrap the whole lot in ready roll puff pastry and bake it like that – it seriously is amazing !!! Let me know how you get on x

  2. April 2, 2010 3:31 pm

    What a cutie! She looks like she loves to snuggle! 🙂

    • April 4, 2010 9:40 pm

      She is such a snuggler, i may make a Foxy page on my blog as i think people will get sick of me posting about her in my blog!!! She is my ‘fur’ baby though.

  3. April 2, 2010 5:53 pm

    awww cute cat! I’ve never had broccoli or sprouts raw as I assumed they must always be cooked….maybe this is a new discovery for me! Also, loving the fruit mixture you took to work and you packaged lunch. Keep up the nutritious eating, it sounds like you love it!

    • April 4, 2010 9:39 pm

      I think you can have most veggies raw, they taste so different uncooked, give it a try, broccoli is especially good! Actually i have found a few blogs where people eat nothing but a raw vegan diet – this is a little extreme for me but i bet they feel amazing and the girls who write the blogs are absolutely glowing so it must be ok!

Leave a Reply

