Skip to content

Starting to feel like a real food blogger!

April 11, 2010

So so sorry i have been a little rubbish at blogging the last few days but i will give you a brief catch up of what i have been up to…

Friday Evening

I’ll go back to Friday, i was back in the office after my 3 days of exams and the weather was amazing even for UK standards, so a friend asked me whether i wanted to go back to hers for a cheeky cocktail!

I really enjoyed just sitting in the sun have a good old natter with my girly friend. Once the husband got back from work he suggested a date night, so we went to the Railway Inn in Honiton as they have a fantastic deal of a fresh made pizza and a pint for £9.95! I had a pint of an ale called ‘Summa That’ and a fishy pizza (tuna, smoked salmon, anchovy and egg).

It was very good and i am not sad to say i ate the whole lot! The base was so thin and crispy it was just amazing.

The husband and i then shared a creme brulee, i only had one small spoonful.

 

Saturday

I had been looking forward to Saturday for a while as i had 2 foodie events happening. First though, breakfast was a bowl of Jordan’s Natural Museli and Yeo Valley organic strawberry yogurt mixed together.

The husband and i then went off to our first food event. The Vegan Food Fair in Taunton. I had read about this event on the Nakd website and as we lived quite close thought we would go check it out. It was only small but very friendly, there were a few stalls that offered information on becoming vegan and also had a vegan cafe open.

The husband and i decided to go halves on the Falafel and Veggie Burger, it was seriously delicious and the husband loved the food too.

There was a big sampler table where you could try different sweet and savoury vegan foods…

We picked up a platter of desserts to try, they were all very good. The husband liked the lemon ‘cheese’ cake and liked them all!

I personally do not think i could become vegan as it is very restrictive but i do like the idea of becoming vegan, i love animals and if what i eat causes animals to suffer i don’t really want to be a part of that. Maybe i will gradually make more vegan choices in the future where i can.

When we left the Vegan Fair, the husband commented on how much he actually liked the food and how good his tummy felt after eating it (he suffers with a bloated stomach often).

To carry on with our healthy choices we decided to pick up some fruit juices to drink in the sun. I opted for the ‘Veg Out’ super juice…

we walked back to the car and continued to enjoy our juices, mine was bright purple and was very earthy tasting. I liked it!

When we got home after Taunton, we had a few hours to kill before our 2nd food event. I sat on the bed with the cat and read some blogs, the husband then dozed off on my left and the cat fell asleep on my right, we were all lying there in a row – i wish i had got a photo of it!

Before we went off to foodie event #2 i made myself a 2nd green monster in my recycled super juice cup.

Our 2nd Event was the Exeter Food and Drink Festival. I had heard that there were lots of stalls and demonstrations, we purchased an evening ticket and was disappointed that half the event is blocked off and is only open for day tickets :o(

However it was a good event and had a really good atmosphere. There was a number of local ale and food companies selling food and drink.

I decided to drive for 2 reasons, firstly it gave me an excuse not to drink and secondly i was planning to have a good run on Sunday and didn’t want anything to spoil it.

I did however have a half when i first got there of one of the host ales, i went for the same ale i had the previous evening ‘Summa That’ and then it was soft drinks and a coffee for  me for the rest of the night.

They also had some food presentations at the show. We watched the chef cook lamb with garlic and chorizo stuffing. I know i am vegetarian but the smell was amazing!

The chef kept talking about his pie company and how everyone should try his pies… so we did! We went straight to the Tom’s Pies stall. There was 2 veggie options – YAY! I had the choice between mushroom, spinach and white truffle oil or Buffalo phil cheese, butternut squash, kidney beans and tomato chilli – i went for the 2nd option. Check out my pie in the box…

Yummy pie, mash and mushy peas! The pie was worth every penny, i am actually going to track down where these pies are sold and buy some for my freezer. The husband had a Steak hot pot pie and our friend John had a venison pie – all gave their thumbs up.

The evening got a little busier and the atmosphere was really good as there were live bands playing. I started to get a little chill so opted for a coffee, i got looks off people like i was an alien for not having a beer in my hand – they will get over it!

At the end of the event, they handed out left overs so the boys had some cooked chorizo (nothing for veggies though :o( )

The boys then wanted more food (they had quite a few beers in them and we all know that feeling of wanting junk in your trunk after a drink) so we ended up in the god awful McDonalds. In the past i would have had a burger for the sake of having one but now i am veggie, the choice isn’t immense and i would rather go without, so i sat and watched all the drunk people stuffing their faces with a feeling of me being holier than thou!

So Saturday was a real food blogger day for me, i still need to learn to take more photos but i still get a little embarrassed getting my camera out!

Right i now have to get off my butt and go for a run – catch you later!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 3:15 pm

    What a great way to spend a Saturday. The Food + Drink Festival looked great and those pies looked amazing. I’m going to check them out now!

  2. April 11, 2010 3:18 pm

    I’m so jealous of your fab foody events! They both looked brilliant x

  3. April 11, 2010 4:50 pm

    Everything you have described sounds so yummy, especially that pie – and I can’t believe how reasonable the prices are!! I think living in London has made me believe everything is much more expensive…

    Well done on resisting McD’s – I’ve not been able to eat in there since watching Super Size Me and other documentaries about high street fast food chains – I wish I could exercise the same restraint about my noodle boxes as they are just as bad for me!

    I love food fairs/markets – you have made me want to look up another one to go to soon – I’m glad you had a good time 🙂

  4. April 12, 2010 9:06 pm

    Ooh that was a proper foodie day, complete with veggie juice. I can’t bring myself to drink the juice of vegetables so I am very impressed that you did, and liked it!

Leave a Reply

