Skip to content

Volcanic Ash has got in the way!

April 15, 2010

I am once again so so sorry for not blogging the last week, i was playing catch up after being out of the office taking my exams and then when i just get on top of things – a volcano erupts in Iceland and the whole of the company i work for has been thrown into chaos!

I work for an airline and am meant to be flying on Monday – all flights have been cancelled today and tomorrow so not sure if i will be! It’s so surreal! So as you can imagine work has been manic this week.

I have however been sticking to my wholesome diet and going for regular runs (i just have not found the time to blog – or read blogs so have some catching up to do).

Here are some of the delights i have eaten this week, i should be back on track with my blog later today…

 

Sweet Potato, Mint and Feta Rosti & BBQ Tofu!

I food processed 1 sweet potato, added approx 60g crumbled feta cheese, a tsp of mint sauce (i didn’t have any fresh), an egg and 40g melted butter. I then browned the mixture in a frying pan and then baked it in the oven at 190 for 20 mins.

The firm tofu was coated in BBQ sauce and then browned in a frying pan – the result an AMAZING dish! So sweet and yummy!

 

Peanut Butter Satay Stir fry!

Do you remember the lovely people at Whole Earth Foods sent me some vouchers so i could try some of their products? Well i bought this baby in Tesco the other day…

I mixed a tablespoon of the crunchy peanut butter with a tablespoon of coconut milk to make my satay sauce. I added this sauce on top of a stir fry of courgette, onion, brocolli, beansprouts and noodles. Tofu was added for extra protein. I just had to eat the meal with chop sticks, this was a quick, healthy and tasty dish – think this will appear on the blog again very soon.

I am still purchasing eggs off a lovely lady at work who rescued some battery chickens, the little girls are so happy now they are producing soooo many eggs (to think a farmer was going to slaughter them because they were not producing a good enough quota of eggs) Well up yours farmer! The hens now have feathers, can actually support themselves on their legs and have a happy life in my friends large garden. Please if i can ask anything – DO NOT BUY BATTERY/CAGED HENS EGGS!

With so many eggs in my fridge i decided to make a frittata, i browned courgette, broccoli, onion and sautéed potatoes in an pan and then added 3 large beaten eggs. This was then left on the stove for 10 mins on low, to ensure the egg was cooked through on top, i sprinkled some low fat cheese and placed under a medium grill for approx 5 mins. I had a simple salad of cherry tomatoes and tzataiki, baby spinach, beansprouts and hummus.

 

I have been running out of time in the mornings so have been using this little fella…

The top half holds the cereal and had a little spoon in the lid (so convenient!) and the bottom blue part which goes in the freezer, keeps the milk cool, so when ready to eat, you tip it into the cereal and away you go! Everyone wants one now in the office!

 

I had a little surprise delivered the other day…

A box full of Nakd and Trek bars to sample and review! How exciting! With my half marathon in 2 weeks, i am going to use this lot as a source of fuel and let you know how i get on, the difficulty is – what to try first?!

 

Well I’m off to have a walk round the town Saturday street market, the weather is gorgeous today, you would not think there was a large ash cloud hanging over our heads right now!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 12:56 pm

    Ooh lucky girl getting all the Nakd goodies! I did wonder about how the ash had affected you, hope it all clears up in time for you to fly. Your cereal and milk tupperware is so cool, where did you get it? Glad you are back to blogland 🙂

    • April 19, 2010 5:43 pm

      Well hello! The ash is still overhead so no flying for me :o(

      I’m hoping to get up in the sky on Wednesday and can’t wait, just hope the passengers are nice to us cabin crew!

      I’m having an evening of catching up on my blogs, so expect a few comments coming your way x

      • April 19, 2010 5:44 pm

        Oh sorry… i got my cereal containers from a shop called the Range, not sure if they only have these shops in the SW of UK so i will do some research and let you know.

  2. April 17, 2010 4:52 pm

    All of your eats look fab, especially your omelette – yummy! How weird is it that there is an ash cloud above us at the moment??? Its so sunny! I hope everything gets back to normal for you soon, I can’t imagine how disrupted things have been for you as you work in an airport – not good. I admire you for continuing to eat healthily though, I so would have turned to chocolate by now!

    • April 19, 2010 5:48 pm

      Normally i would have turned to the chocolate if i wasn’t blogging but everyday i had the intention to blog but just ran out of hours! Phew…i could have put on a stone in chocolate by now! LOL

      The ash is hopefully clearing, that’s when the chaos begins, getting all our passengers from A to B!

  3. April 18, 2010 6:55 pm

    That peanut butter looks delicious – is it ‘healthier’ than the cheaper branded stuff? I might have to look for it next time I go to the big Tesco 🙂

    • April 19, 2010 6:00 pm

      Interesting question.. i’ve just looked at mysupermarket.com and compared the whole earth peanut butter to Sunpat and Tesco Value peanut butter. The whole earth does not contain sugar like the others, it has 2% more peanuts than sunpat (Sunpat has added salt, stabilisers and an E number – why?) I would highly recommend spending the extra and getting the whole earth foods peanut butter. The ingredients list is below;

      Roasted Peanuts (97%), Palm Oil*, Sea Salt, * Sustainable Palm Oil Sourced from Rspo Member.

Leave a Reply

