Skip to content

Summer is here! Well almost!

April 18, 2010

Did anybody else in the UK feel like Summer had arrived this weekend? With all the sun shining you would not think that there was a massive ash cloud above our heads!! It’s a crazy world sometimes.

Now i am not having much luck with my blogging recently, i lost all of Saturdays photos – gutted! So i have to move straight onto Sunday (and today will follow later).

Yesterday i planned to run 4-5 miles but at a faster pace than what i am used to – i need to step out of my comfort zone sometimes! With this in mind i knew i wanted to eat as clean as possible as my energy is sky high when i eat well. So for breakfast i made an old favourite – A GREEN MONSTER!

My Monster contained;

  • 2 massive handfuls of baby spinach
  • Coconut milk (i like it ALOT)
  • A sample of Linwoods, Flaxseed, Cocoa & Berries
  • a dollop of crème fraiche

 

The result – a creamy, gorgeous, refreshing GREEN MONSTER – oh yeah! I sipped this baby all the way to… The Beach! Yes, i live approx 10 mins drive from the sea (to think i was born and bread in the 2nd biggest city in England and now i am a Town girl who lives by the sea)?

 

So we wouldn’t make bad food choices (and spend money), the hubby and i made a packed lunch. I was quite excited about this, i haven’t had a picnic in years.

In our picnic we had;

  • Cheese roll for me, ham rolls for hubby
  • Raw veggies (tomatoes, carrots, baby sweet corn and broccoli)
  • Low fat yogurt for moi, full fat creamy yogurt for hubby.
  • 2 bottles of water
  • a pot of homemade Tzatziki (crème fraiche, cucumber and mint sauce- V Good)

We headed to Lyme Regis on the Jurassic Coast – check out the sky – can you see all the ash?…neither can i!

There is a guy in Lyme Regis who can balance large stones on top of one another – it’s fascinating to watch him balance the rocks – i just wouldn’t have the patience!

The hubby and i just chilled out on the beach ate our picnic and read our magazines, it was so relaxing. I bought a new magazine called ‘Bodyfit’, it is the launch issue so you got some free goodies (a 12 week workout diary and a sample of Linwoods, used earlier in the GM). The magazine is quite good! It certainly got me motivated for my run! Click the magazine link for more info.

 

My view whilst relaxing! Not bad huh?

 

Before we left the beach, i munched on one of my Nakd samples, Berry Cheeky Bar. I wanted some good protein for my run (i am going to put a separate review page together on my blog soon and review each bar individually). In brief – the bar was delicious! I so love these products and it really did help fuel my run.

 

When we got back from the beach the hubby said that if i go for a run, he would get the garden tidied and we could have a mini BBQ and glass of wine when i got back, if that’s not motivating I’m not sure what is! So i went for my fast run.

I ran 4.5 miles in 45 mins – therefore a 10 min mile run, this may not sound fast to some but usually i run 11.5-12 min miles! Hey, we all gotta start somewhere! I felt really chuffed with myself as i actually feel really fit when i go for a run now – this run was quite hard as the temperature was a lot warmer than normal, i did sweat! I got home and jumped in the shower, when i got out my face was quite PINK, not sure if i was still warm from the run or i caught the sun – whoops! The pic doesn’t really show the pinkness – also need to clean my mirror – yuck!

I then joined the hubby downstairs, we only have a small garden but it is enough for the 2 of us, the Barbie was on the go and the glass of wine poured – perfect! The Quorn burgers were for me, however i think i swallowed many flies on my run – does that make me still a vegetarian?

 

My hubby is so cute, look at the concentration on the ‘Is it cooked yet?’ test!

 

My delicious, well received dinner…2 quorn burgers in wholemeal rolls, cheddar and tomato sauce. Sautéed potatoes, made by the hubby, salad with honey mustard dressing and a splodge of onion relish!

I wolfed this down in seconds – i was hangray!

It was a lovely evening as i could relax, my Monday flight was cancelled due to the ash so i knew i didn’t have to get up at 4:30 am. Tuesdays flights are also cancelled, but the ash is subsiding (for now) so they are opening Scottish airspace – yay! Hopefully i will actually operate on Wednesday!

By the way, happy Monday everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 7:06 pm

    I got that new mag aswell and was quite impressed, it had some good articles. Your day at the beach looks wonderful, its so nice when we get good weather here in the UK!

  2. April 19, 2010 7:07 pm

    It was such a lovely weekend wasn’t it? Let’s hope this is a sign of things to come – we’re due a nice summer! I wish I lived near a beach, but I’ll have to make do with parks for now!

  3. April 19, 2010 9:06 pm

    I’ve just ordered one of those circular running bottles from Sweaty Betty – I’ve seen a few people with them and though I just had to have one – they’re very handy!

    Your BBQ meal looks delicious and I now have BBQ envy – I think if we get another weekend like the last soon, I’ll be grabbing a disposable BBQ from Tesco and doing something similar myself 🙂 I didn’t know quorn would work on a BBQ, I thought it might fall apart – but I’m glad you showed me different!

Leave a Reply

