Skip to content

2nd Half Marathon Complete!

May 4, 2010

Me and the hubby in the wind and cold after finishing my second half marathon!

About 6 weeks ago I quit. I never wanted to run again, it was not fun, I was not getting any enjoyment from it and I could not understand why I had registered for another half marathon – my heart just was not in it. I cannot explain why but I felt like there was a massive grey cloud above my head…so I quit.

I announced on my blog that I was not going to take part in my 2nd half marathon and I also told my husband to ask his uncle whether he wanted my space. I let my friend know that I was not going to be running with her.

I then had a lovely Sunday afternoon, safe in the knowledge that I did not have this burden of running over my head…but that soon changed and all I wanted to do was go for a run…typical!

That evening I went for a run, a relaxed gentle run at the gym and I loved it. I soon realised that running a race is 50% physical training and 50% mental training. If your head AND body does not conceive it, then your body never will. I asked my husband not to mention anything to his uncle…just yet.

Once I changed my attitude towards running and took the pressure off myself, I enjoyed my training more and I am happy to report on Sunday 2nd May 2010 I ran my second half marathon.

I got round in 2:37:44 – not brilliant by any means and was 7 minutes slower than last year – but I am chuffed because I finished. I committed to something and did not give up.

The race was hard this year for a number of reasons;

  • The weather was bitterly cold, it took my breath away and my muscles never really warmed up.
  • I did not have time to use the portaloo before the race so at mile 4 I had to ask some complete strangers stood outside their house whether I could use their toilet (thank you strangers).
  • I had an uncomfortable tummy all the way round (not sure if nerves or the liquorice I decided to use as fuel – veggie friendly)
  • Not sure whether I felt different because I am a no meat athlete this year.
  • I did not train near enough.
  • My muscles went really tight during the last 3 miles and I had to walk for approx 1 mile (I ran constant last year).
  • Because I did the race last year all I kept thinking on the first loop was ‘oh no, I still have to go through town, back down the massive road for miles and then do all this again’ – mental torture it’s evil!

 

Some of the things I enjoyed this year;

  • Watching all the runners that put the hours in run a fantastic pace (including my husband who ran it in 1:54:51 – you rock Hun)
  • The support of the crowds even though the weather was rubbish.
  • Even though it was hard, the fact I didn’t give up and actually finished.
  • The people dressed up in crazy costumes raising money on the way round.
  • The soldiers and firemen carrying heavy weighted bags on the run to raise money for charity – you guys rocked and made me feel humble.
  • The fact that for the 2nd time in a row I managed to get myself from almost zero fitness to half marathon standard in just a few months.

 

This race was a massive learning curve for me, I need to put less pressure on myself and just get out there and run – I can do it, I need to find some positive mantras to use instead of saying ‘this is hard’, ‘why is this not easy’ when I run.

Today I have registered in the ballot for the 2011 London Marathon – crazy I know! I have also registered my interest in the Birmingham Half Marathon in October, but I am going to train sensibly and not give myself a hard time. Running is meant to be run – I just have to remember that.

 More photos of the half marathon are to follow x 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 4:29 pm

    Well done you! 😀

  2. May 4, 2010 9:52 pm

    Congrats!!! I remember when you said you weren’t going to do this so a massive congrats for getting yourself fit in time. I hope the good outweighed the bad for this. I too signed up for the London Marathon and I haven’t even run a 5k yet, let alone a half marathon. Crazy!

  3. May 6, 2010 2:25 am

    Congrats! My 2nd half is about 18 days away, and I’m getting nervous! Sounds like you had a great race, though…one you can look back on and learn from. You rock!

  4. May 28, 2010 6:28 pm

    Congratulations! Running is totally a mental thing and you overcame that and finished! That’s such a good story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

