Skip to content

Oh how i love you fruits & Veg!

June 15, 2010

Yesterday I got my mojo back! It’s funny how a holiday of over indulging can give you the push needed to re-evaluate eating and exercise habits.

I thought I was going to be on a massive downer after a week of leave and knowing that I was going back to the backlog at work. I was on the tip of having the post holiday blues on Sunday night so went searching for a way to get rid of the feeling.

I brought an App on my iphone by Andrew Johnson, I have his deep sleep app and have found it so good – this time I purchased his ‘Positivity’ app.

I fell asleep listening to it; I don’t think I have ever heard the end of one of his sessions so I cannot tell you what it said! But every time I have listened to one of his sessions I genuinely believe that they work. I woke up Monday morning surprisingly chirpy! I just faced the day and got on with it. I even had to present the new Cabin Safety Presentation that I had not done before to 10 cabin crew, normally I would be a little nervous but I just got on with it…maybe it was placebo but I do think the session worked.

Onto my eats for the day…breakfast I had natural museli and yeo low fat vanilla yoghurt.

(I was naughty because I had 3 teas throughout the day which all contained sugar – bad girl) I am going to try to reduce my caffeine and sugar intake gradually.

For lunch I had a lovely green salad – just what my body was craving, it contained:

  • Lettuce
  • Green Pepper
  • Red Pepper
  • Spring Onion
  • Cherry Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • 2 Quorn Slices

I also grazed on a variety of fruit throughout the day.

When I got home, I am usually whacked on a Monday and don’t feel like I have the energy to do anything…but yesterday I was full of beans, I sorted all my clothes and washing out from my holiday, cleaned and tidied the kitchen and prepped everything for dinner.

I even had time to have a quick sit down with a mug of green tea and a cuddle from Foxy (I think she missed me last week, as she hasn’t left my side since we brought her back from the cattery).

For dinner I made a roast dinner for the hubby – I took the meat of a cooked chicken – probably the hardest thing I have done since becoming veggie, I used to love picking at the chicken and eating the chicken skin but I resisted and am happy to report that I am still veggie! I can only compare the feeling like not licking your lips when eating a jam doughnut!

I had roasted veg (sweet potato, carrot and broccoli), sweetcorn, peas, stuffing and 2 quorn burgers – it was delicious!

For pudding I had a small handful of m & m’s – they are so moreish, I really had to resist getting more from the big bag that hubby had bought in France.

All in all it was a good day for a Monday, shame I did not get to exercise but I am full of cold. I plan to try and get back into the exercise asap but just be gentle until the cold has gone. Oh well, it’s hump day tomorrow – yippee!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 8:58 pm

    Your dinner looks yummy – lovely variety of colours!

    Have you tried having decaf tea instead? I drink PG Tips Decaf and I can’t tell the difference between that and the normal variety. I gave up caffeine about 2 years ago – I used to drink loads of coffee with about 3 sugars in – and when I gave up I swear I had a headache for about a month!! But I don’t miss it now and I’m down to half a sugar too.

    I never dran much tea previously though, which is maybe why the decaf tastes the same to me – but I’d be interested to know what someone who has drunk normal tea for longer thinks 🙂

  2. June 15, 2010 9:39 pm

    Mmmmm M&Ms. I think I have had chocolate of some discription every day for at least a week. I can’t help myself! My last caffiene hit was Thursday and while I had a headache Friday through Sunday I feel fine now. I was surprised about the headache as I literally was on 1 coffee a day before that. I’m determined not to let it become a daily habit again. Though a starbucks once in a while will be permitted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

