Skip to content

Reading a Blog Post made me do a 180.

July 11, 2010

I have been feeling a little in the doldrums recently, a good friend of mine split with her husband and i felt quite upset about it as they seemed like the perfect couple. I’m not sure why but it got me thinking how easy it could all end with someone – and i got a little panicked as i love my life and never want it to change, everything feels so fragile sometimes – i guess i was feeling a little sorry for myself for no reason.

I have felt better today as i had a chat with the husband last night about how i worry about things and as always he put my mind in the right frame.

I have been catching up on blog reading this evening and have enjoyed reading blogs linked to other blogs, i then came across this post – please go over and read it. Sometimes it takes a post like this to make you realise that your problems are really insignificant in the grand scheme of things. Megan and Brent are amazingly strong and my thoughts are with them both. I no longer feel sorry for myself as i have no reason to.

…Now onto today’s eats and goings on..

I woke up this morning with a craving for some magic juice…a green monster. I was so eager to have my GM that i forgot to take a before photo, so here is an after photo instead!

We got a call from our good friend John, he has joined a Dragon Boat team and was racing on the river Exe in Exeter with other Dragon Boaters from all over the country. We ventured down to the Quay to support our good friend.

SDC10536

SDC10537

SDC10538

It looks quite cloudy on the photos but it was actually really hot and humid. After we cheered John on (they won by the way), the hubby and i went to a good ol’ favourite – Wetherspoons for lunch, we were after cheap and cheerful.

I went for their new salad of roasted veg, couscous, chickpeas, flatbread and vinigarete, it was ok, the veggies were a little oily and the flatbread a little dry but all in all…ok.

When i got home i was in a domestic goddess kind of mood. I decided that i am going to use as much food up out of the freezer and cupboards as i can this week, it will save us some money and it will be interesting to see what i can produce with the ingredients to hand.

Tonight was no exception, i had defrosted some mince for the husband but was not sure what to do with it, i decided on meatballs and homemade tomato sauce. I sautéed a chopped red and white onion and a clove of garlic (oh how i love my food chopper!) in a tbsp of olive oil.

I added 3 tbsp of tomato puree and a cup of red wine to the mix.

I also popped in a tin of chopped tomato and a tsp of mixed herbs. Simples!

As the hubby was having meat balls i thought i would join him…with my Quorn Swedish Style Meatballs, the hubby picked these up from Tesco the other day, he really does spoil me!

The result = a simple yet healthy meal, i had mine with a spoonful of pasta and some raw broccoli (and a cheeky glass of rose!), the husband loved his also.

I also made some Yogurt in our Easiyo yogurt maker, i have not used this in ages and thought it pointless to go out and buy more yogurt when we can use what we have first. I look forward to having some in the morning for breakfast.

And that’s not all folks…i also made some bread in the bread maker, the house smells like fresh bread as i type, so worth the effort of chucking the ingredients in and switching it on! I look forward to eating this at lunch tomorrow!

Side Note: The bread was still cooking in this picture and is now a lovely golden brown colour!

Before i forget look at the bargains i bought in Exeter today, i got a new sigg bottle to help me drink more water at my desk (I have read that it is not good to keep reusing plastic bottles!) and also picked up this bargain weight loss book from WH Smiths, i am going to flick through it now in bed and will let you know if it is any good.

Night all, hope you have had a fantastic weekend, it is sooo good to be back x

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 6:57 am

    Wow you have been busy making all that stuff! Will be interested to see how your yoghurt turns out! x

  2. July 12, 2010 8:59 am

    That is a bargain! I had a little peek at that blog post but can’t bring myself to read it as I’m just heading out and red blotchy skin is not the order of the day! Have a good one 🙂

  3. SuperGirlWrites permalink
    July 12, 2010 5:26 pm

    Wow, the blog you linked to is so powerful 😦

Leave a Reply

