Skip to content

Shopping, Pad Thai & Smiles!

July 25, 2010

Today’s mission was for myself and the husband to spend some quality time together – and i can let you know that the mission was accomplished.

We got up early, had breakfast (a caramelised onion bagel & OJ) then headed straight out the door and headed to Plymouth. The sun was shining which we didn’t expect – so this put a bigger smile on our face.

As soon as we parked up the car we headed to quite possibly one of my favourite places…Starbucks! I managed to get the comfy seats in the window whilst the husband went and ordered.

 

He came back with my Iced Latte and he ALWAYS returns with a cookie or cake and informs me that he was given it for free…yeah right!! Of course i had a few bites!

 

 

We had a leisurely walk around the shops and i was so pleased to see that they had a Paperchase as i wanted to buy a Diary – i am in an organised mood of late – so need a diary!

 

 

I found a plain page a day diary but also found this cool notebook…

 

A closer look…it is a retro picture of a flight attendant! And as i am in the aviation industry and fly as Cabin Crew – i just had to get it! I LOVE it! I am going to turn it into an address and birthday book.

 

 

I am also excited about my purchase from WH Smiths…Oxygen Magazine!

 

 

I can’t wait to snuggle in bed and have a read (and hopefully get inspired!)

We picked up lunch from Tesco Express (i bought an egg salad sandwich, apple slices and tropical juice for £2 – bargain!) And then we ventured to the sea front a 5 minute walk away.

 

 

There was an old bus convention on – there were some real retro vehicles on show.

 

 

We ate lunch looking over Drake’s Island – It was from here that Francis Drake sailed in 1577, to return in 1580 having circumnavigated the world.

 

 

When we got home, i was in the mood to cook and what i wanted was Pad Thai, the hubby and I had been reminising about our honeymoon in Thailand so i wanted thai food.

I got my weapons ready to take on this challenge!

 

To make my Pad Thai you will need;

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 2 tbsp crunchy peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp hot sauce (i used Chilli coconut sauce from Tesco)
  • 1/4 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 5 spring onion
  • chopped peanuts
  • noodles
  • lime to garnish

 

I whisked the lime, soy sauce, peanut butter, sugar, hot sauce and chilli together…

 

 

It tasted fine but not ‘thai’ enough so added a tsp of this stir fry sauce that i had in my fridge…

 

 

I chopped the onion and garlic in my food processor…

 

 

And added to the wok with some Quorn ‘chicken’ style pieces.

 

 

This was sauteed for approx 4 minutes, then the sauce and noodles was added.

 

 

After a couple of minutes i added the spring onion. Whilst this was all cooking through i enjoyed a small glass of wine.

 

 

The finished product, i added chopped peanuts, sprigs of spring onion and a wedge of lime.

 

The meal was actually stunning and tasted like Pad Thai!! I added scrambled egg to my pad thai but left it out of hubbys as he is not keen – this was so easy so you will be seeing this again – with tofu next time maybe?

 

The cooking did not stop there, i could see 2 bananas almost good for nothing staring at me from the fruit bowl – i decided i would do something with them for dessert (i hate wasting food!)

I sprayed the frying pan with Fry Light and sliced the bananas in the pan…

 

 

I then added approx 1/4 cup of Sailor Jerry Rum and 3 tsp of Brown Sugar…

 

clip_image002

 

This turned into a delicious syrup, i served the banana combo with some cookies and cream ice cream – holy yummyness!

 

 

It has been a perfect day – there are smiles all round in our household! I am now going to enjoy one more glass of wine, then curl up in bed to read my new magazine – night all x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 9:17 pm

    Hmmm, I may try your Pad Thai. It looks really nice and ive got pretty much all the ingredients. Will do it without the peanut butter tho as Boyfriend hates it…hope it doesnt affect the recipe too much.
    I love Paperchase too. Cant go there without buying a little something.
    Is that Oxygen a new magazine? Never seen it before !?!

    • July 25, 2010 9:48 pm

      To be honest, the peanut butter taste is subtle, it just gives it a crunchy texture. Let me know if you try it.

      Oxygen magazine is a US publication and I hear so many bloggers talking about it, so I was really pleased to get it. There are some very inspiring photos and stories in it.

      Glad to hear you are also a paperchase fan! X

  2. SuperGirlWrites permalink
    July 25, 2010 9:25 pm

    You were right on my doorstep! It was a beautiful day today, and plymouth has a paperchase?! Where!?

    • July 25, 2010 9:55 pm

      Paperchase is inside the old waterstones! It’s only small but good enough for me! Do you have a blog?

      • SuperGirlWrites permalink
        July 26, 2010 10:01 am

        You are already following me I think, WeightWars 🙂

  3. July 26, 2010 9:17 am

    Looks like you had a great day! Your pad thai sounds yummy x

  4. July 26, 2010 11:37 am

    I could move into Paperchase I love it so much. There used to be one in Borders in Glasgow but since Borders shut I’ve not seen Paperchase appear elsewhere. Thats probably a blessing for my bank account though! The Pad Thai looked good, I may give it a whirl 🙂

Leave a Reply

