Skip to content

What to do with a Turnip?

July 27, 2010

Someone gave me a turnip today at work – i said thank you for the freebee, then thought to myself – what the hell do i do with it????

Yes that’s right folks, at the grand ol’ age of 29 i have never eaten turnip!!

I wanted to use it in my dinner as i am craving veggies big time, so i thought…it looks like a swede so i will cook it the same!

I chopped the little fella up into cubes and boiled it on the hob for 5 mins, i then added cubed potato also.

Whilst the turnip/potato was cooking away, i decided to make a pie, with the help of this condensed soup…

I chucked into a saucepan with quorn pieces, mushrooms and sweetcorn and heated it through…

I then placed the mixture into 2 foil tins (one for now – one for the freezer) and placed ready rolled puff pastry on top…

The end result…easy peasy ‘chicken’ and mushroom pie, mashed turnip and potato and onion rings (i did also boil some green beans that someone gave me from there garden but they were so stringy the husband i decided the best place for them was the bin).

Lovely Jo advised me that chocolate sometimes helps when she has headaches in the evenings – this sounds like the perfect medicine for me so i am going to have a couple of squares of my Green & Blacks with a glass of milk and bid you all a very good night x

Foxy would say night too but she is already in the land of nod!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 10:22 pm

    Ive never had a turnip in my life…worst thing: dont even know what it looks like :s gonna have to ask Mr Google.
    Hmmm, I love that chocolate. I dont wait to have a headache to eat some tho. hahaha 😉

  2. July 27, 2010 10:49 pm

    I’m just thinking of The Enormous Turnip. To be fair I think I tried it one Burns night, I think it’s a traditional accompaniment to haggis. Hope the chocolate does the trick honey!

  3. July 28, 2010 6:05 am

    Me again! Had a look at Google and I actually know what a turnip is…just didnt know what it was in English. My Mum must have made me try it when I was little…dont think I liked it.

  4. July 28, 2010 7:10 am

    I don’t think I’ve ate a turnip either. In the north east we aways call our swedes turnips for some strange reason!

  5. July 31, 2010 1:10 pm

    Now I understand why you debating the colour of a turnip with your colleague 🙂 I love mashed turnip! And not a day goes back by when I don’t consume vast quantities of dark chocolate- Lindt’s my fave.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

