Skip to content

Becoming Kind…

August 3, 2010

Sorry for disappearing recently, sometimes it just happens, i miss one evening of blogging and then before i know it – it’s been a week of no blogging!

 

Just to get back into the swing of things, check out my dinner tonight…

 

I had a green monster to match the husbands t-shirt, in my GM i had

  • 2 BIG handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 banana
  • 8oz Organic Rice Milk
  • 1 drop natural almond flavour
  • 1 drop natural vanilla flavour

Mix it all together and you have a wonderful GM..

 

 

Dinner was spontaneous and actually looked pretty!…I had a piece of filo pastry and was not sure what to do with it. I still had the 2 organic courgettes in my fridge that i bought off a work colleague last week, i placed them in the food processor and then added feta cheese, mint and basil. This was placed on top of the pastry with sliced cherry tomatoes, this was baked for 15 mins to allow the pastry to raise…

 

 

I had half of the above with sautéed potato slices (thank you hubby you potato king) and braised leftovers of the courgette mix.

 

 

This little mixture will be going into my recipe book for future occasions!

 

BECOMING KIND

This past weekend we had my husbands cousin Simon and his wife Harriet came to stay, we are all the same age and get on so well. Harriet is so lovely – we literally can talk for England! She has always been into natural products and now that she is pregnant, she is even more into what goes into her body. We all went to the folk festival in Sidmouth, which was a fantastic event, there was a number of stalls selling natural cosmetics, so Harriet stocked up and i took information on the companies and i was aware that i needed to use up some of the products that i already own.

 

When Simon and Harriet left us on Sunday, i chilled out at the computer and checked out some of the natural cosmetic companies, they all quoted that they did not test on animals. I do not know why i have never thought of this before but i wondered whether any of the products that i used may have been tested on animals (i use Clinique mostly) – i started searching the web and 6 hours later, i realised that nearly all the products i owned may not have been tested on animals but the ingredients may have been – i felt disgusted.

 

My research went further and i read some horrific investigations and saw some horrendous videos of animal testing – i LOVE animals, that is why i became vegetarian. I saw cats just like my gorgeous baby girl Foxy having the most horrific torturous things done to them – i knew from that moment that i no longer want to use my vanity to cause harm to animals anymore.

 

All my cosmetics/toiletries are bagged up and ready for the bin – i don’t want that shit in my house – companies that i have used all my life, i will never use again, not unless they change their ways and stop testing their ingredients/products on animals.

 

I am in the process of replacing my products with Cruelty Free ones – i have quite literally purchased the whole range of Naked Body Care products!! The products are 97% at least natural and are 100% cruelty free. I have already tried their shampoo and conditioner in the past and was really impressed, i bought;

  • Naked Hydrating Shampoo
  • Naked Hydrating Conditioner
  • Naked Cocoa De Mer Body Butter
  • Naked Face Wash
  • Naked Bath Foam
  • Naked Rice Body Scrub
  • Naked Hairspray
  • Naked Heat Protection Spray & finally
  • Naked Orange and Ginger Shower gel which they are currently giving away free with any purchase!

It seems excessive buying but most of the products were £3.99 and the postage was free, at least i will sleep sound knowing that i am being a little kinder. I can’t wait to review the products (and maybe convert a few peeps to stay away from products tested on animals).

 

The next thing i need to purchase is cosmetics, fortunately some of the products i own are already cruelty free (Urban Decay/Barry M). I am thinking about getting either Beauty Without Cruelty products or e.l.f products (they are so cheap) – just to get me started as i really am getting rid of everything. I can then always buy more natural cruelty free products when i have time to save.

 

Can anyone recommend 100% cruelty free, natural cosmetic company’s?

 

I really do not want to preach but i urge anyone who loves animals to consider making kinder choices when buying products – there are animals out there suffering so bad just so people can look nice – is it because i am worth it – i think not!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 7:14 am

    Your pastry creation is really inspired, looks very tasty! I have also used a few of the naked products (I love their deep conditioner) I think you have a really good point about the animal testing, to be honest its kind of gone off the radar a bit I think and its something that people should be reminded of. I’m definitely in a place were I want to use more natural products – particually skin care and the Origins I bought during my hols have been good. I think Korres do cosmetics that are cruelty free and I think origins may do a line of costmetics too, may be a bit pricey though x

  2. August 4, 2010 9:42 am

    I tried the Naked shampoo and conditioner for coloured hair but had to stop using it as my hair became really lanky, too much product built up. I remember looking into cruelty free products before and was quite shocked by the extent of it. At that time (about 10 years ago) the company that made Always feminine products and bic pens was guilty of testing on animals, though they may have stopped since then. It’s something I’d like to learn more about. I would also like to get into the habit of buying products that are produced in this country.

  3. August 9, 2010 8:17 pm

    This was really interested – I’m going to have a look at the things I have in my cupboard.

    I don’t really have cosmetics but I do use a lot of Origins creams as they’re meant to be more ‘natural’ – I’ll be really interested to see how ‘kind’ they are. If they have any element of animal testing, I won’t be able to keep using them as I love my fuzz-butt kitties and couldn’t face them every day if I thought I was contributing to the pain of their cousins.

Leave a Reply

