Skip to content

I’m Naked!!!

August 13, 2010

That got your attention didn’t it?!!! However it is not me that is Naked, it’s my toiletries. I received my lovely box of goodies from Naked the other day and this is the first chance i have had to blog about my stash. So i am going to take you through each item with my own honest opinion but first a little bit about Naked (taken from the website):

Free your body with Naked

Yes, we’ve removed the bad stuff. And the natural active extracts we add in are widely recognized as being the best at what they do eg. Cocoa Butter for moisturizing, Sunflower for sun damage protection, purest Rose oil for anti ageing.

But you may be asking why we don’t use parabens, SLS and  petrochemicals in our Naked products. After all they are in the vast majority of toiletries on most bathroom shelves, so can they really be that bad? For us, it’s all about choice – about preferring to reduce our toxic load and use as many friendly ingredients  as possible.

You may also ask why only 97% natural? Well, the remaining 3% is made up of things like the preservative system (stops the product going bad after opening ) plus things like emulsifying agents which are necessary to stop ingredients from separating ( we don’t like divorce ). However some of our products are actually 99.5% natural as they didn’t need as much help to behave.

 

And the main reason i have bought from Naked…

Bambi’s quite safe

Naked contains no animal derived ingredients so is suitable for vegetarians.

A few products do contain animal by-products i.e. milk, honey and beeswax but we do highlight these as not suitable for Vegans on our published ingredients lists on our website.We also don’t believe in testing on Bambi, Lassie, Skippy or any other animal – not any of our ingredients, not our final product (although our founder’s dog once had an Angelica bubble bath courtesy of her kids!) We operate a Fixed Cut Off policy dating from 2000. That’s why we’re listed in Naturewatch UK’s Compassionate Shopper Guide.

 

Sounds too good to be true, so here’s the reviews on the products i bought;

Naked Rose Softening Face Wash

Rose Softening Face Wash

Not only does this face wash smell divine (reminds me of Turkish Delight), it also cleans my skin thoroughly – something other natural face washes i have tried are not very good at – my skin does not feel dry after use either, so this product gets a big thumbs up from me!

 

 

 

 

Wake Up Naked - White Ginger Body Wash

Excitingly Zingy White Ginger Body Wash

Naked currently have an offer where you can get this Body Wash for free with any other product (excluding hair sachets). I am not a huge fan of Ginger so would never have picked this wash…however i actually really like it! It is such a fantastic morning wash as it wakes me up and the ginger is not overbearing – another thumbs up (and even better that it was free!)

 

 

 

Naked Shine Hydrating Shampoo - normal to dry hair

Honey & Mallow Hydrating Shampoo

As i am trying to grow my hair at the moment, i wanted a hydrating shampoo to stop my ends getting dry – i like the smell of this shampoo and leaves my hair literally squeaky clean – i would recommend that a conditioner is used with this product as my hair is quite knotty after washing, which is a good job i purchased the matching conditioner!

 

 

 

Naked Shine Hydrating Conditioner - normal to dry hair

Buttermilk & Green Tea Hydrating Conditioner

This conditioner has won a Natural Health Award and i certainly know why…it is gorgeous, it conditions my hair beautifully and smells AMAZING! I love this conditioner so much! This will be remaining in my bathroom for a long time!

 

 

 

 

Buff Up Naked - Rice Shower Scrub

Glowing Skin Rice Shower Scrub

I suffer with dry skin so was over the moon to see that Naked have a scrub product. This scrub is very good, after using, my skin not only felt smooth but also moisturised – it was mild enough to use on my face too. I should say at this point that all the bottles are a good size and at only £3.99 each, i feel like i have robbed the company – such a bargain!

 

 

 

24 Hour Naked - Coco de Mer Body Butter

Coco De Mer Body Butter

I thought this would be the product that lets the side down – how could a product that is 97%+ natural moisturise my dry, parched skin? Well i don’t know how they did it but they did, this product makes my skin feel like silk and does not feel greasy like other butters that i have tried – just when you think it can not get any better, the scent of this body butter is something else. I have received comments everyday that i have worn it about the beautiful scent – again this deserves the award that it won!

 

Naked Heat Defender - Heat Protection Spray

Heat Defender Protection Spray

I have used ‘cheaper’ sprays in the past which have left my fine hair heavy and greasy. I feared that this product would be the same – i used to spend £10 on my spray from the hair salon and at £4.99, thought i could give it a try. The spray turns out to work just as effectively as my usual product, the mist is fine and protects my hair from my straightners – once again – the scent is lovely and i can smell it in my hair all day – i love this product so much!

 

Naked Fix It Fast - natural hold hairspray

Fix it Fast Natural Hold Hairspray

Hairspray is one of the products that is heavily tested on animals and i did not want a can of it in my house – i was delighted to see this spray as i need a little spray to keep my flyaway hair under control when i go flying. This again is a mist spray and not heavy at all – perfect for my fine hair (i even caught the hubby using it the other day – he loved it too!)

 

 

 

Melt Away Naked - Starflower Foam Bath

Softly Soothing Starflower Bath foam

I have not had chance to try this yet but from the smell of it i know i am going to love it! I will review this one once i have tried it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Overall Verdict

I am so in love with this company – it offers everything that i want in my products at a very affordable price – i hope to try all the products over the next couple of months. If anyone from Naked is reading this please can you consider the following;

  • Facial Toner and Moisturiser
  • Travel Size Products
  • Deodorant
  • Face Wipes

Unfortunately these products can only be delivered to UK addresses currently but the good thing about us UK folk is Naked offer free delivery on orders over £20!! Check this company out for the full product range – you will not be disappointed! x

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 9:17 am

    Hey chick, this is a great review, you should link it to the company incase they want to use it!

    • August 18, 2010 5:21 pm

      Thank you for the advice – I contacted Naked and they want to add my comments to their site!

  2. August 14, 2010 6:45 pm

    Great review! This stuff all looks great. I have been thinking a lot lately about healthifying the stuff I put on my body as well as the stuff that goes in.

    • August 18, 2010 5:25 pm

      Hi Stella – that is exactly what i am trying to do too. I worry all the time about what i am eating and putting into my body but am now thinking about the possible toxins i am putting onto my body also !

  3. August 15, 2010 3:42 pm

    Great review! I’m looking for a new shampoo and conditioner too. Although I don’t like shampoos that leave my hair squeaky clean. The conditioner sounds great though! x

    • August 18, 2010 5:26 pm

      The conditioner is sooo good! They have a number of shampoos, so you may find one that you like x

  4. August 16, 2010 9:22 pm

    I’ve nominated you for an award on my blog 🙂

    • August 18, 2010 5:28 pm

      Thank you so much Laura – my first award! I promise to pass it on tomorrow – i have had a 12 hour flying day today so really can not think straight at the moment!

Trackbacks

  1. Naked recruits new fans! / Blog | Naked Body Care

Leave a Reply

