Skip to content

You know I’m not eating good because i am not blogging – bad girl!

August 19, 2010

…but i have an excuse! I have been flying all this week and i just can never eat right when i fly (or take photos – i would get in lots of trouble!) So my food this week has not been structured meals or exercise but instead snacks on the go and working 10 hour days – thank goodness i only fly 1 week every other month! What is good about my diet when flying is it gives me a kick up the bum to want to eat healthily and regularly when i am not flying – i am so looking forward to next week when i can eat a plate full of veggies every night!

I am on a late today so am not checking in until 3pm so i am just chilling with my fur baby on the sofa as my diet and working schedule has reduced me to a lethargic mess. I am back in the office tomorrow and plan to eat raw all day! I need an energy boost!

This morning i actually ate breakfast – the first time this week! The hubby and I went to Waitrose at the weekend and found some of our favourite yogurt on special offer, so i enjoyed Rachel’s Organic Greek Style Coconut yogurt…holy yumness, i recommend you try it!

The amazing ingredients list…

I had Jordan’s Natural Museli and sweet dates with my yogurt.

I love dried dates, but i used to have an issue with them, i used to think they looked like massive cockroaches and was really put off them, now i tell myself not to be so silly (or just try not to think about it), i enjoy dates once more!

For August, it is cold and grey today – it feels like autumn already! So i reverted back to my autumn/winter green tea, which is going down very nicely as i type this blog.

It helps that it is in my favourite mug!

Before i love and leave you so i can watch some ‘fantastic’ day time tv, i thought i would show you some more natural products that i have started to use…

Oleo Rich Facial Moisturiser

Oleo is a local company in the South West that i found at the recent Sidmouth Folk Festival, they had a stall and i was impressed by the ingredients list and the fact that they do not test anything on animals, you can read about the company HERE and buy their products online.

I purchased the Rich Facial Moisturiser as i do suffer with dry skin and needed something to quench it – (i no longer use my Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturiser for ethical reasons.) This 60g glass jar cost me £7.50 (not badly priced at all).

I use this in the morning before applying my make up (review of my new make up will be coming soon) and of an evening after cleansing my face. I REALLY like this moisturiser, my skin feels silky smooth and my make up glides on my face. As you all know by now, i sometimes operate as cabin crew and my skin can get uber dry, but this moisturiser has not let me down this week, my skin feels as moisturised at the start of the flight as it does at the end! I am a fan of this product and would happily purchase it again.

Thursday Plantation Tea Tree Anti-Perspirant Sport

I wanted to get a natural not tested on animals deodorant (as i am sure that you have read the articles about deodorants being highly linked to breast cancer). I visited an independent health store in Exeter City and the very helpful lady recommended this one as i do workout so need something a little bit stronger.

I was a little unsure whether i was going to get on with it as tea tree is quite a strong smell, however the smell is only subtle and is actually quite clean smelling which i love (i have even caught the husband stealing this when i am not looking!)

This has kept me fresh and clean smelling on my 10 hour flying days this week so has done the same job as a regular deodorant but with less toxins in my body.

clip_image002

Kingfisher Mint Toothpaste (with Fluoride)

The little health store had so many varieties of natural toothpaste i was not sure which to go for, the lady recommended that i try a mint one if it was my first time trying a natural paste, she also said it would be good to alternate between the fluoride and non-fluoride varieties – does anyone know anything about Fluoride??? This toothpaste tastes just like a mild regular toothpaste but again without all the nasties! My teeth feel clean after cleaning but i do find that they do not feel so clean throughout the day and i do worry that i have bad breath! Maybe i will try a different variety next time to compare or look out for a natural mouthwash (do they exist?)

Oh yes, before i go… i am famous! I emailed Naked about my mini review and they mentioned me on their website – i really love that company!

 

clip_image002[1]

Well I’m signing off, i hope my flights aren’t busy today! Catch you all later x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 11:04 am

    Have a great day! Thanks for the deodorant review, I’ve been wanting to try a natural one for a while too

  2. August 19, 2010 2:16 pm

    Ooh I need to get a hold of some of that deodorant. I have been getting myself into a tizz about needing something more natural thats also effective I couldn’t actually see that happening! Good news about your fame 😉

  3. August 19, 2010 2:46 pm

    I totally forgot to also mention that I’m not sure why you were being advised not to use a flouride toothpaste everyday. From what I’ve been told you need to brush with a flouride toothpaste twice a day to stop decay.

    • August 23, 2010 10:42 pm

      The lady at the health store did say that tap water has flouride in and that is why some people choose to eliminate it from their toothpaste, i chose to get a toothpaste with it in as i was also under the impression that it stops decay – i may need to do more research!

  4. August 19, 2010 2:59 pm

    Excellent that you are so committed to sticking to ethical and natural beauty products. I’m definitely going to be phasing out all my nasties and converting so keep the reviews coming!

    • August 23, 2010 10:43 pm

      I’m glad you are enjoying the reviews – i have some natural household cleaners to review soon, so watch this space!

  5. August 20, 2010 6:18 am

    I used to love Rachel’s yoghurt- so creamy…

    And dates- big fan. Especially halawi dates stuffed with peanut or almond butter. So good.

    Good luck with your return to healthy eating- you can do it and remember to be kind to yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

