Skip to content

My Mates at Marmite!

September 11, 2010

Well i had a lovely day in Guernsey on Thursday but boy did i miss having the internet!!

My meeting went really well and it was also the Battle of Britain week on the little island so there was the red arrows and lots of other aircraft flying around.

I had caught the early flight so had a 4:45am get up, by the time the meeting finished i could not wait to get to my hotel room and chill out for a couple of hours before going out to dinner.

My hotel room was lovely and had recently been refurbished…

Even better, there was a lovely selection of Twinings tea which are one of my favourites – not just your regular tea/coffee complimentary drinks – i really love the Twinings box – so i may contact the company to see if i can buy one.

There was also a selection of premium brand sample by Elemis – i was unsure whether they tested on animals, so stuck to my own products.

I met up with my meeting colleagues and we were taken to the Cobo Bay Hotel, which is on the west cost of the island to have a meal, but first we watched the beautiful sunset.

The menu was limited for vegetarians in terms of main meals (there wasn’t any!), yet they had a full meat and fish menu? However they did have vegetarian starters, so i ordered two of them as my main. I went for;

  • Fresh Asparagus with 2 poached eggs and Hollandaise sauce – this was certainly fresh and tasty – i am actually thinking i need to recreate this at home as it is so easy to make.

And

  • baked brie, with toasted brioche and plum chutney – yes it looks like cheese on toast but it was so much more than that!! The melted brie was to die for and the sweetness of the brioche complimented the cheese so well – this is possibly another dish that i could try and make at home (but it wouldn’t be the same as having it made by a chef!)

I melted into bed that night i was exhausted! Due to my early flight i put a tag on my room door requesting a 5:30am continental breakfast….and boy did they deliver. On my mini breakfast buffet for one i had;

  • Toast with butter
  • condiments including, jam, marmalade and honey
  • half a grapefruit
  • natural yogurt
  • banana
  • lemon drizzle muffin
  • orange juice
  • freshly brewed coffee

I ate the toast and had the yogurt with the honey mixed in, i also drank the orange and a cup of coffee. Just before leaving the hotel for the airport i inhaled the pink grapefruit. The banana and the muffin was put in my bag to eat when i landed and was back in the office…i wish every morning i had a breakfast delivered to my room!

clip_image002

I always sleep so well in hotels and really love staying in them, i have some more business trips coming up soon so will get to do it all over again!

After a lovely flight and a tiring couple of hours in the office, i returned home (there is no place like home) – i had missed a parcel delivery so legged it to the post office just in time to collect it….it was my surprise from marmite…

I got all excited when i opened the envelope and found the little corrugated box wrapped in string – how vintage…

Inside was a fantastic retro jar of Marmite! 

I actually prefer the retro design to the modern design…

I feel so lucky to have received the jar as there have only been 750 jars made!

The vintage style jars have been created to celebrate the Goodwood Revival. The Goodwood Revival is a magical step back in time, a unique chance to revel in the glamour and allure of motor racing and aviation in the romantic time capsule of the golden era at one of the world’s most authentic circuits.

The event happens on the 17th-19th September and you can book tickets on the Goodwood Revival website (follow my link above).

So you are probably asking – what has marmite got to do with vintage motor racing? Well, i thought the same thing! But then i read the leaflet that came with my gift…at this years event Tesco are recreating a 1960’s convenience store!! How cool is that? Especially if you are a vintage fan like me! 

The store will have range of exciting vintage inspired household products – a real step back in time for some i imagine. So even if you are not a fan of motor racing there will be something for everyone.

Thank you Splendid Communication and Marmite for your gift, i look forward to being creative with it x

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 10:29 am

    I would so visit a retro supermarket! Any idea where it will be?

    Love all your pictures, food looks amazing!

    • September 11, 2010 12:41 pm

      The Retro store does sound amazing doesn’t it? I have got the address off the website…

      Goodwood Estate, Chichester, West Sussex, PO18 0PX

      I won’t be able to attend as i have other plans but it looks like an amazing event x

  2. September 11, 2010 8:05 pm

    No vegetarian main course options?! I wouldn’t have thought that possible these days! Good idea to have two starters instead.

  3. September 12, 2010 6:36 am

    Love the retro marmite! Your hotel sounds very posh, its lovely to have a little break somewhere like that even on business. The food looks delicious!

  4. September 12, 2010 7:59 am

    Oooohhh I lurve marmite! x

  5. September 12, 2010 10:20 am

    You are so lucky that you can sleep well in hotels. I generally struggle with hotel rooms being too hot, my bedroom at home is kept very cold! The marmite jar is so cool!

Leave a Reply

