Skip to content

Bargains and Books!!!

September 18, 2010

Thank you all for your kind comments on my last blog…i really hope i get my tummy sorted soon.

 

Last night i went with my friends for a sensible night of bowling…or maybe not!

 

 

A few of my friends are moving on to pastures new, so we went bowling as a massive group and had lots of fun, i drove so not a bit of alcohol touched my lips.

This morning i woke up and was surprised to see the sun shining, i actually woke up with tummy pains (hence my rant about IBS on my earlier post). I got on with the housework and then ventured up the high street for some fresh air.

I purchased some Cinnamon Roll scented candles, i thought i would fill the house with some lovely Autumny smells…they smell yummy.

 

I love candle light in the house Autumn/Winter time, it makes everything so cosy…

 

I was really disappointed to see that our local Julian Graves is closing down…but it is being replaced by Holland and Barratt, which is actually better as it has more variety. The best bit about it was everything was half price, i soon filled up my basket with little pile of goodness – i purchased;

  • Superfood Mix
  • Honey dipped banana chips
  • Boysenberry/Forest Fruits yogurt
  • Candy nuts
  • Dr Stuarts Triple Ginseng and Tranquility tea

All this for just over £8!

clip_image002

 

I also ventured to the library as i wanted some help with my diet as my belly is so bad…i always loved watching You are What you Eat on TV, i remember all the problems people had with their bodies and then the Mistress McKeith would put them on the right track and their problems would ease or completely vanish. I think i took all the Gillian McKeith books out of the library – even the Wedding Countdown! I got married last year so a little late for me but the recipes in the back look so good.

 

I also picked up Economy Gastronomy, which looks great for the hubby’s meals as the recipes do contain a lot of meat dishes.

 

And finally as i was just about to get my books stamped i picked up the Raw Transformation, i am craving raw food to ease my tummy pain.

 

I’m really looking forward to putting an meal plan together from these books.

 

For lunch i wanted a Green Monster (soya milk, banana, lots of spinach, flaxseed and oats) but in a bowl so it felt more like a meal than a drink, i think i may have put too much milk in as when i went to put my dates and Superfood mix on top, they sank to the bottom!! I still ate it with a spoon and it was delicious!

 

Hubby was at work this morning (he has only 2 weeks left in his grotty job), so we made the best of the afternoon and went for a walk along Sidmouth sea front.

 

My tummy was feeling ok after my GM at lunch, the hubby suggested we eat out so we went and got some pub grub. The Veggie menu was not that extensive so i went for the Vegetable lasagna with salad and garlic bread. It was a lovely lasagna as it was homemade but i am unfortunately paying for it now…major bloating 😦

 

Before i go to bed, like some other UK bloggers, i received this exciting package when i got home, it’s the new Nakd flavour bars and they are not actually for sale yet (i feel so privileged). I will not reveal the name of the bars until the company announces them, but i did try one today and it was Delightful ;P

A full review will follow when i have tried all 3 x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey (The Habit of Healthy) permalink
    September 19, 2010 6:48 am

    Sorry to hear you are still sufffering with your IBS. I have that YAWYE cookbook but haven’t used it for ages. I may just have to dig it out again as I think there were some good recipes in there.

    • September 20, 2010 7:41 pm

      There are some lovely recipes in it – i can’t wait to try them!

  2. September 19, 2010 8:46 am

    I have just bought ‘The Kind Diet’ by Alicia Silverstone! You lucky think getting all those Nakd bars – yum! x

    • September 20, 2010 7:42 pm

      I really like the look of the ‘Kind Diet’, do you follow The Kind Diet blog? – Alicia is gorgeous isn’t she?

      Are the recipes ok for us UK bloggers to follow in the book or is it lots of strange american foods?

  3. September 23, 2010 4:04 am

    Hi girl! I love your blog! I am so glad that I came across it! That green monster looks delicious. I am obsessed with those! =)

  4. September 23, 2010 8:31 am

    Really cool blog you have got here.. I think I may try going down to my library and seeing if they got you are what you eat book as well as eating raw just to scoop up some new recipes x

  5. September 28, 2010 10:23 am

    Oh you lucky bunny indeed!!!!

    Oh and how I miss Holland and Barrett. Thanks for stopping by my blog lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

