Skip to content

IBS – how i hate you!

September 18, 2010

For the last couple of weeks i have felt blah… i guess the best way i can explain it is it feels like someone has kicked me really hard in the tummy but from the inside.

I’m not sure why i get IBS but when i do, i feel so awful. For example yesterday, my lovely German work colleague had baked some pretzels and bought one in for each of us. I nibbled on mine for an hour whilst going through my emails and then had to sit in mild discomfort as a result all morning.

 

 

I then had a Falafel Delight sandwich (Falafel, hummus, grated carrot, spinach & Sweet chilli sauce) on granary bread for lunch, an hour later…

 

 

I was feeling very sorry for myself…my tummy was bloated, solid and painful – i actually thought that my work trousers were going to cut me in two!

I have suffered IBS before quite badly when i was on my gap year travelling the world – i managed to whittle it down to dairy products and sometimes bread (i think yesterdays food was the bread as i tried to stay away from the dairy) that was causing the pain but sometimes it was drinking cold water or having a hot drink that could trigger it.

This morning all i have had is a cup of coffee with soya milk and i feel discomfort – i think my body hates me and does not want me to put anything inside of me.

Does anyone else suffer with this condition?

My plan this week is to cleanse my poor tummy. Which means;

  • drinking plenty of water
  • drinking peppermint tea
  • cut out as much dairy/wheat as possible
  • keep a food diary to see if there are any other triggers

The problem i have at the moment is i am working away from work quite a bit, which means eating rich hotel food – i am away for 2 days this week so may call ahead and see if they can provide me with a vegan meal with no wheat????

 

I’m not entirely sure but recently i may have been feeling a little stressed out and think i may have caused the IBS to happen, my hubby has been unhappy in his job for 2 years, he has been working loooong hours (sometimes doing a 60 hour week). Because he has been so unhappy, i think it has made me unhappy. I had to watch my poor hubby get up at the crack of dawn, get home late in the evening, where he would eat his dinner and then go to bed…he has not had a life or the energy to get involved with sports for 2 years and i have had to watch him become more and more unhappy and stressed. Well this week brought the light at the end of the tunnel, his uncle owns a Painting and Decorating company and has offered my hubby an amazing job, less hours and more money…it’s a no brainer really! My hubby has handed in his notice and is so happy!!

 

Things are looking up so please P**S OFF IBS!!!!

 

On another note….it’s not all doom and gloom…

This week i was fortunate enough to fly a commercial aircraft…not actually the real thing as there was the potential of me writing off a £16 million aircraft!!!

No i went to the Simulator where our pilots train to fly, i was allowed to have a go and it was amazing;

SDC10722

It was like a fairground ride as the whole thing moved! I managed to take off, i then flew the aircraft manually (so no help from Mr Auto Pilot) and then came into land…where i crashed and the screen went red (i always knew i was going to hell!)

 

Once i had had a few goes and went through a few scenarios, the trainer then took over the controls, he started doing loop the loops, which with the motion of the simulator made ours stomachs turn and a high speed rejected take-off. He then showed us a worse case scenario, ie a double engine failure!!! He made it look so easy! He glided the aircraft onto the runway, scraping the tail on landing to reduce the speed and we all lived!!! But that is the whole point of the simulator, our pilots are ready for anything and i have full confidence in each of them.

I was told i was a natural and asked whether i would like to become a pilot!! But i prefer my feet on the ground and in my office for the time being!

 

SDC10723

Life isn’t all bad!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. sassydrcil permalink
    September 18, 2010 11:01 am

    Hello,
    I found your blog via philippa’s blog.
    I suffered from “ibs” for a long while but actually found it was fructose malabsorption – quite a common problem
    Google it. Any Australian site, especially one involving Sue Shepherd (dietician who suffers coeliac disease herself) should be reputable.
    It could be fructose malabsorption (diagnosed on a breath test, don’t know if they are available widely in the UK. It could also be coeliac disease – it is worth getting this checked out as it can cause problems down the line.
    It is not surprising that your symptoms followed wheat – that occurs with most IBS sufferers. The wholemeal bread/ fibre rich diet will probably set you off. Fibre is advocated but causes problems in a lot of people – best to get your fibre from fruit and veg rather than grains.
    anyway hope this helps you – get along to your GP, do some judicious googling.
    best,
    Cilla (sassydrcil.wordpress.com)
    (p.s. I am a medical doctor myself so have a bit of background info)

  2. September 18, 2010 1:43 pm

    Sorry to hear of your IBS my sister gets it and it makes her life a misery sometimes. Hope yours improves for you! Congrats to your hubby on his job!

  3. September 18, 2010 2:53 pm

    Ooh I want to learn how to fly a plane now! Or at least get a shot in a simulator 🙂 I don’t have IBS but I do have an intolerance to something I think. I cut out all dairy this past week and my headaches have stopped so I think I may be on to a winner!

  4. Stacey (The Habit of Healthy) permalink
    September 18, 2010 4:32 pm

    Aww, I’m so sorry you have been suffering, that doesn’t sound like fun at all! I hope you start to feel better soon. I am so jealous that you were able to have a go in the flight simulator though, that sounds like such fun! I’m glad things have started looking up for your hubby. You’re right that stress can bring on a case of IBS, so hopefully now things are looking up your symptoms may subside a bit.

  5. Marijke permalink
    September 20, 2010 10:21 am

    Argh I’m so jealous you got to have a go in the Sim!
    I always thought if I ever got the opportunity I’d probably be quite good at it as I used to go on my dad’s flying games on our old PC when I was younger (geeky, I know)!

  6. September 21, 2010 10:03 am

    Hey there, sorry to hear about your IBS! I have IBS too and it often flares up when I’m stressed or unhappy and not necessarily linked to food (although dairy is evil). Have you tried taking Colpermin? (http://www.colpermin.co.uk/) It’s an AMAZING IBS medication that you can get OTC and it’s peppermint based so nothing too strong. It works wonders for bloating. I’ve tried lots of different meds and this one’s defo a fave. Peppermint tea, ginger tea and lots of well-cooked veg help settle my stomach too. In fact, i’m doing a series on digestive health soon as I’ve had years and years of rubbish IBS.

    Feel better soon xxx

  7. September 21, 2010 8:06 pm

    Hi
    I also suffer from IBS and it can make you feel so awful, I really sympathise. My symptoms tend to vary and certainly get worse with stress. I use Colpermin and also recommend it.

    You have won a blog award! Check it out here http://embracenutrition.blogspot.com/2010/09/my-first-blog-award.html

Leave a Reply

