Skip to content

It’s time for a change i feel…

December 19, 2010

It has been months since i last blogged so please let me explain why. If you have been part of the blog world for a while then you will remember a certain article being printed in the US Marie Claire Magazine about whether Healthy Bloggers are really good for your health, like all bloggers i was upset by the content as i have been following the bloggers mentioned in the article and expressed my comments of support to these bloggers.

But then i looked at the flip side, me, myself writing a ‘healthy living’ blog. Alot of the posts i wrote on my blog were what i thought other people would like to read, not necessary what i thought. I took pictures of a really healthy salad lunch but failed to mention that i had eaten half a chocolate bar or that in the back of my mind all i wanted was some fattening comforting food – because that’s not allowed if my blog was meant to be about health.

I started putting more and more pressure on myself to try and be someone i was not on the blog. I would get frustrated that i was not as commited like some of the girls on the well known blogs.

I decided to detach myself from the blog world as i was getting quite stressed out. I realised that i was not happy and that i should not blog until i was. I decided enough was enough – no more pressure to eat what i thought other people wanted me to eat, write things that i thought other people wanted read. It was time to remember who i actually was.

So where am i now…I AM HAPPY! Yes, i feel ready to come back to the blog world but as ME, not as an imposter healthy person.

I’m know longer vegetarian, i am relaxed about what i eat. I try to buy the best quality meat that i can but not going to beat myself up if i can’t afford it. I enjoy chocolate, cream, pies and roast potatoes. I haven’t stepped on the scales in weeks but feel no different in my clothes. Me and the hubby quit the gym, we were spending £60 a month and we wasn’t even going!! Thank goodness that pressure has gone!! We plan to turn our dining room into a work out room in the new year, so it is not an issue and the town i live in offers great routes to go for a walk or run. The hubby and I are closer than ever as no  food retsrictions or mood swings get in the way…who knows maybe we will make a mini us in the near future.

So, if you are reading this and i have disappointed you i am so sorry…i just need to be real and true to myself. I plan to open a brand new blog and leave this one behind. I truly hope that you follow me when i set it up. I will still be making healthy meals and in the new year reporting on my exercise, but i will also be making chocolate coated cakes and calorific romantic meals if that is what makes me happy, my new blog will not always be about food or exercise, i plan to have a mix of anything and  everything.

New blog address will be following, i still loving reading all of your blogs and will be leaving comments again soon – it’s lovely to be back xxx

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 5:42 pm

    I’m totally NOT disappointed 🙂 I’m glad to see you’re back with a clear head, and I look forward to following you in the new year! I, too, had taken a break from blogging but I’m hoping to be a little more diligent in the new year 🙂 Good for you!

    • December 20, 2010 1:02 pm

      Hi Sandy

      As ever thank you for your support – you are such a sweetie xxx

      I need to catch up with you so will pop on your blog and have a read – i really need to get on SP soon too xxx

  2. December 19, 2010 6:16 pm

    hello again!
    I completely understand what you mean about the pressure ‘healthy’ blogging can place on you – at first I found the blog a way to encourage me to keep losing weight, because I knew I was going to post my losses each week – but I found it terribly hard to post if I’d gained! Even though I knew I’d get support, I just didn’t feel like I could do it.
    I don’t think anyone will be disappointed in you – your posts were always really informative and enjoyable to read – if anything I’m just sorry that whilst I was enjoying what you wrote, it was causing you stress to do it.
    I always think even the healthiest bloggers must have some treats or days when they don’t live by their usually healthy principles – their blog just isn’t where they write about it.
    I will look forward to seeing your new blog 🙂 I hope you feel much better now you’ve made some changes!
    x Viki

    • December 20, 2010 1:03 pm

      Thank you for your lovely comments, sorry i have not visited your blog in a while, i am going to try and have a little catch up today as i am on a snow day off work!!!

  3. December 19, 2010 6:42 pm

    Hey!
    I am not dissapointed either. The blogs I prefer are normal ones, not “perfect” ones who never put a foot wrong. I like to see how people manage a healthy balance, not extreme eating.
    I ignored the article because I thought that was the best way!
    🙂

    • December 20, 2010 1:05 pm

      Good for you for ignoring the article, i think it affected a lot of bloggers in different ways.

      I’ve decided to carry on with this blog and like you put it, just be normal in what i post and stop all the pressure. Thank you for your lovely comments also x

  4. December 20, 2010 10:42 am

    Wonderful Amy!

    I know how you feel. This post somes up how I have been feeling since that Marie Claire post too. My problem is that so many of my readers write blogs that i don’t want to read any more because I feel too guilty. So now I’m trying to read foodie blogs only. My new food approach is similar to yours- i’m on the everything diet and loving it!

    Sounds like you have an exciting new year ahead and I can’t wait to read more of your blog xxx

    • December 20, 2010 1:00 pm

      Thank you so much for writing your honest post in the first place, it made me realise that i was feeling very much the same. I have decided to continue my blog as ‘healthy amy’ because like you although i am being more relaxed about food, i actually feel healthier – probably more mentally than i did. I have also become attached to my little blog and as i was preparing to start a brand new blog yesterday and delete this one, i just did not want to leave it behind!!!

      I look forward to reading more of your blog too and all the calories that we consume along the way!!!

  5. December 20, 2010 5:37 pm

    Hey! Glad you’re back! I totally understand your point of view. I feel exactly the same. I dont blog that often now as I eat “normally” meaning I eat pizza, chocolate…
    I still want to blog but I think I’ll be blogging in a different way in the new year.

  6. SuperGirlWrites permalink
    December 20, 2010 7:45 pm

    I’m so glad that you are back, I’ve missed your post. Be perfectly imperfect, it’s a nice place to be.

  7. December 31, 2010 7:50 pm

    I love this post and I am glad you are being true to who you are. You should only ever do things that make you happy, not what you think others may want you to do. Being healthy is as much about having a healthy mindset than just what you eat and how you exercise. Self-acceptance is a very positive trait and you should be proud of who you are. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

