Skip to content

Why this New Year will be different…

January 2, 2011

…i will get to that later!!

Let me just show you what a lovely New Years Eve i had this year – my youngest niece turned 6 years old so hubby and I went to celebrate with her up in Nottingham. We went bowling, ate lots of food and she had a wonderful cake made by her nan (my mom – which was delicious). I also got to see my eldest niece and my baby twin nephews (who are just gorgeous)! I’ll let the pics do the talking…

 

The girls were better bowlers than me! the birthday girl gives a thumbs up.

   Nov-Dec 2010 133 Nov-Dec 2010 136 Nov-Dec 2010 147

 

Cuddle time with the boys…

Nov-Dec 2010 150 

Me with my beautiful nieces and nephews…

Nov-Dec 2010 169Nov-Dec 2010 159 Nov-Dec 2010 160

 

The Sweetie Cake!!!

Nov-Dec 2010 163 Nov-Dec 2010 165

So adorable!!

Nov-Dec 2010 170 Nov-Dec 2010 172

 

So back to the title of my blog, why is this New Year going to be different??

Well husband and I have been thinking about it for a while and have decided that we want to start a little family of our own, so i want to lose a little bit a weight first (approx 14lbs) and get as healthy as i can be to enable me to hopefully get pregnant. We are going to be very relaxed about it though and let mother nature take its course when it is ready. I have not decided if i am going to discuss this in much detail throughout the year on my blog or whether just to announce it if we have any good news, basically i do not want to get stressed about the whole thing!! But this has given me a fantastic reason to consider the nutritional value of everything i eat/drink.

Okay, so it wouldn’t be new year if i did not put some goals down for the year ahead right?…so here goes…

  1. In order to save money we stopped our membership at the gym (we were wasting £60 a month not using it – crazy) so i am going to turn our dining room into a mini ‘gym’. I will do weight training, yoga and cardio DVD’s in there – i’m going old school!
  2. Eat nutritionally rich food 95% of the time (bad food is allowed now and again so i do not feel deprived)
  3. Drink lots of water and green/herbal tea – i drink far too much caffeine!
  4. I sometimes get a little stressed out and fed up for no reason so i would really like to learn relaxation techniques/meditation to ensure my mind is as healthy as my body.
  5. I watch too much tv, i would like to read at least one book a month & review it on my blog.
  6. I need to be more organised and try to remember to send birthday/anniversary etc cards on time!
  7. My ultimate end of year goal is to be pregnant!!!

I hope on 1st January 2012 i will have a tick by most of my goals xxx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. SuperGirlWrites permalink
    January 2, 2011 11:07 pm

    Don’t be fooled in to thinking that having a few pounds to loose will make a difference, it took me 3 months to conceive my son at 18stone!

    Good luck, it’s truly the most remarkable thing you will do with your life.

    If you have an iphone there is a decent hypnosis app if you search for it, I use it a lot to relax.

    Great to see you blogging again x

  2. January 3, 2011 8:06 am

    Happy New Year, Amy!

    I love your goals for this year. Hope you achieve no. 7 in particular 🙂

  3. January 3, 2011 3:13 pm

    Love the goals 🙂 Good luck with them all x

  4. January 3, 2011 6:00 pm

    Happy New Year!

    I love how your stance about what ‘healthy’ means has evolved and that you’ve kept an open dialogue about it with your readers. I find that really inspiring 🙂

    I hope you achieve the goals you have set yourself – I need to get around to having some myself! Looking at your goals though – my 2p worth would be that:

    1) I made time to read more this year by going to bed a bit earlier than usual and reading in bed, I found this to be a good way to trade telly time for book time and:

    2) giving up caffeine was the best thing I ever did! Ok, so I still have the odd cup of coffee now and then, but for the most part my hot drinks are now decaf or green tea. I found the first 3-4 weeks really hard (caffeine withdrawal headache from hell for the first 4 days) but after this my energy levels really evened out and I’m really bright in the morning now without needing a cuppa to kick start me.

    Good luck!

  5. January 4, 2011 10:07 pm

    Aww, I hope you get to start your little family soon. I think that would make for a great 2011! 🙂

  6. January 7, 2011 3:23 pm

    Such awesome goals…good luck with them!!!

Leave a Reply

