Skip to content

Forks Over Knives…

January 8, 2011

I saw this trailer today on Youtube for the film ‘Forks Over Knives’ and would love to see the movie but think it is only going to be released in the US! 😦

Learn more about the films content here.

 

 

I like the message in this trailer, that food can be a medicine…it can literally reverse diseases such as diabetes, cancer etc. It made me realise that GOOD food is so much more powerful than medication and it is so freely available.

This week i have suffered headaches so I took pain killers, heartburn so i took Gaviscon and bad acne, so used copious amounts of zit cream!!

I know why i have all of the above, it is the after effects of months of over indulging and not caring what i put in my mouth, even my sleep is being affected, i lie awake until 2am, almost feeling anxious but i am unsure why? Is it the 100’s to 1000’s of extra calories in my body that i am just not burning?

If this is how i feel after a couple of months, what the hell would i feel like if i carried on like this for a couple of years????

It’s definitely time to at least try…i still have the power to reverse all these awful effects on my body…and i, like the next person love a challenge, so what to do????

At first i thought a complete detox…this is ok but living off fruit and veg only over x number of days is just not me…i scoured the internet looking for the ultimate food plan…the only criteria was i want to eat CLEAN and enjoy the food within…i was very excited to find the 21 Day Vegan Kickstart.

I wrote a post not long ago about how i stopped enjoying the pressures of healthy eating so i am just going to promise myself that i will TRY the plan – if i have a bad day however, i will not self-loathe i will brush myself off and try again!!

I am not saying either that i am going to become Vegan, i just like the plan…i have the most painful bloated tummy at the mo so i want to eliminate as many sensitive foods as possible until i feel better. Who knows i may return to being vegetarian…i may not…there is no pressure anymore in Healthy Amy’s world!!

Now if you would excuse me i need to get my spotty self onto the kickstart website and start devising my menu for the week…oh how my body is craving fresh, wholesome food! x

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 10:13 pm

    I always suffer from a horrible bloated belly, pretty much everyday. I’d love to know what causes it! Can’t wait for my own detox in a few weeks, hopefully it’ll help. Good luck with yours x

  2. January 11, 2011 2:09 pm

    Yep I’ve been looking forward to this film too. Good luck to me getting a copy of of it in the Middle East. Might need to go to Amazon.

    Love the idea of your 21 Day Vegan Kickstart Diet. Let me know how you get on! 🙂 I’ve got some yummy recipes raw and not raw on my bloggy.

Leave a Reply

