Skip to content

21 Day Vegan Kickstart

January 9, 2011

 

Failure to Plan is Planning to Fail!!!

I have spent the best part of today planning for the 21 Day Vegan Kickstart – like i said yesterday, i am not planning to go vegan, this plan just suits my needs at the moment.

As i love cooking on Sunday afternoons, i went to Tesco and got everything i needed from the shopping list provided – i fortunately had a lot of the ingredients in the cupboard so only spent £33!! This included other things for the hubby as he will be eating normal meals, it is just me on the plan.

I decided to get two of the recipes ready for the next couple of days. The recipes on the plan are for 4 people so i halved the quantities of the ingredients so i have enough for a few meals for myself for the week.

Recipe #1 – Cous Cous Confetti Salad (click the link for full recipe)

For the recipe you will need;

  • Cous cous
  • Salad Onion
  • Carrot
  • Bell Pepper
  • Red Cabbage
  • Dried Apricots
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Curry Powder (i chose mild)
  • Lemon Juice
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

 

First i added boiling water to the cous cous, covered it and left it for 10 minutes…

 

 

Meanwhile i chopped all the veggie ingredients in my little food processor, this made life a lot easier than chopping everything finely! I then mixed this into the cous cous…

 

 

Does it look like confetti???

 

I then mixed the lemon juice, olive oil, rice vinegar and curry powder together and poured it over the salad…

 

 

I had a little try of the salad…it was delicious, i need to try and not raid the fridge and keep eating it!!

 

Recipe #2 Carrot & Red Pepper Soup(click link for full recipe)

For this soup you will need;

  • Onion
  • Bell pepper
  • Carrots
  • Lemon Juice
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Soya milk (i used Rice Milk)
  • Water

photo1

 

I chopped the carrot and onion in my food processor – i really hate chopping, therefore i love my little gadget!

 

photo2

 

I then mixed the onion/carrot with water and simmered for 10 minutes…

 

photo3

Meanwhile I roasted the pepper under the grill to make it easier to remove the skin, this also makes the pepper go really sweet – my kitchen smelt heavenly!

 

 

The pepper was added to the onion/carrot and blended, the liquid ingredients was mixed in at the end…

 

I had a little taste, i usually find soups that i make very bland and don’t really enjoy them but this was something else…full of flavour and just delicious.

 

So tomorrow i will be a ‘vegan’ so to speak for 21 little teeny tiny days! I had some mozzarella in the fridge that i wanted to use up so made a mozzarella and tomato tart using Jus-Rol ready made pastry, spread with tomato puree and topped with the cheese and cherry tomato.

 

 

I also had a lot of bananas to eat up so i made a Banana & Chocolate Crumble, this is so quick and easy. Slice the banana up and throw in some chocolate, i then covered the mix with ready made crumble…

 

One last treat before ‘Project Optimum Health’ begins…

 

Ps The crumble is not all for me!!! I imagine my husband will eat most of eat throughout the week!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 7:41 pm

    As I said on twitter, good luck with it all. I’m glad your joining me in eating vegan for the rest of the month. I made up my own recipe based on that confetti salad but I used quinoa instead of couscous, it was delicious!

  2. Stacey permalink
    January 9, 2011 7:48 pm

    Good luck with your challenege!

  3. January 11, 2011 2:06 pm

    Wow, there is not one thing here I wouldn’t want to eat. That cous cous might also be nice as quinoa as well.

Trackbacks

  1. The Kickstart So Far… « Healthy Amy Presents…

Leave a Reply

