Skip to content

For the love of crisps…..

January 12, 2011

I’m hungry!! Or do i just think i am??? The husband come in from work with a massive bag of Tyrells crisps…my favourite flavour too! Salt & Sherry vinegar flavour – they were vegan so i could have had them but i wanted to see how much i could resist them…it was hard!! But i did it, i showed some self control and did not snack before my dinner was ready!! I am fine during the day, i eat my allocated food and hardly feel the need to snack but as soon as i get home, i just eat and eat and eat! I am not being restrictive with what i eat at the moment, i just wanted to resist the need to snack as half the time i am not hungry, i am just bored!!

So this morning i had the same breakfast as yesterday Nature’s Path Maple Syrup and Hazelnut Harmony cereal – here is the ingredients…

Crunchy wheat, flax flakes with toasty hazelnuts, crispy oat clusters and a delightful dash of maple syrup.

Ingredients

Wholegrain cereals* (whole wheat meal*, rolled oats*, wheat bran*, brown rice flour*, oat bran*, quinoa flour*, spelt flour*, millet flour*), evaporated cane juice*, roasted hazelnuts* 5%, flax seeds* 4%, soy oil*, barley malt extract*, sea salt, maple syrup* 1%, coconut*, natural maple flavour, oat syrup solids*, tocopherols (natural vitamin E), molasses*, cinnamon*. * denotes ingredients are organic

Not bad huh? I shall be purchasing this wonderful cereal again!

For lunch i had the same as what i had for dinner last night Hoppin’ John Salad.

So i moved onto something new for this evenings dinner – Curried Lentil Soup (click link for full ingredients). It was another super dooper easy recipe courtesy of the 21 Day Vegan Kickstart website. To make the soup i used;

  • Red Lentil
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Celery
  • Garlic
  • Cumin
  • Curry Powder (mild)
  • **my own addition Garam Masala (not pictured)

Unfortunately my iphone had a fit and deleted the photos of the soup preparation – i put the onion, tomato and celery in my food processor and gave it a little whirl, i then added this to approx 2 cups of water and the lentils, i let it simmer for about 5 minutes then added the garlic and spices – that was basically it!

Whilst this was cooking, i made myself a Green Monster in the hope that it would distract me from the crisps…it worked!! I mixed baby spinach, rice milk and frozen berries together – it turned out to be not so much green but dark purple! It was super yummy though!

 

I made myself some croutons by slicing a piece of bread into cubes and frying it in a little olive oil (if you look at the back you can see the soup simmering!) **(you can also see the husbands mince beef cooking – this has nothing to do with my meal!!!!!)**

 

The finished product….

 

I didn’t realise when i took the pic that you can’t actually see the soup for the croutons! I have lots left over so will take one tomorrow of the soup so you can see it!

The soup was divine, this will definately be made again, it was so quick, cheap and easy to make but still had all the flavour – the croutons were a bit of a treat but i just really fancied them :o)

I’m now in bed enjoying my second treat of the day a Nakd bar – pure bliss in my world of no chocolate or sugar!!

 

My last treat of the night which is not food related is this talc…

Strange you might think, but i love the smell of this talc, my nan and poppy used to have it in their house all the time so it reminds me of them. Sadly they are no longer with me, so this simple reminder makes me feel so content.

Well i hope you are all having a good week – i will be responding to your comments tomorrow when i have more time, but for now it is goodnight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 8:31 pm

    I love how you made your own croutons! I don’t like croutons that come on salads in restaurants. But I would totally be up to making my own with some of my healthy whole wheat nut bread! Great idea 🙂

  2. January 16, 2011 6:59 am

    Gotta love the nakd bars right? We don’t get lara bars in this part of the world but we certainly get the nakd bars. When I get the US I usually stock up on lara bars but you know what? The nakd bars are much more portion friendly. I totally have to start making my own version me thinks.

    I love your self control with the crisps. McCoys salt and vinegar were the death of me when I lived in London!

  3. January 16, 2011 9:02 pm

    Great self control with the crisps. I love Nakd bars. They are so good for when you have cravings for naughty treats.

  4. January 19, 2011 7:32 pm

    The afternoon is my snacky time too. It’s hard to fight the habit.

Leave a Reply

