Skip to content

Not the best start to the year!

January 19, 2011

Don’t worry folks! This is not going to be too depressing for you to read…i had a great week last week on the 21 Vegan Kickstart and i should be half way through week 2…however, things do not always turn out as you would like!!

I’m going to take you back to late last week, i was loving the vegan challenge and had made lots of extra food to freeze to help me in week 2 of the challenge. I got home on Thursday evening to the sound of random beeping and a mini disco going on in the panel on my fridge/freezer. I tried switching it off and then back on, but the sounds and lights continued…my fridge/freezer was telling me enough is enough, i’m ready for the scrap yard!!

Unfortunately, not only did the fridge die on me, it also took all the frozen vegan meals that i made and all my fresh veggies with it…my vegan challenge came to abrupt end 😦

This week i have not eaten too bad but we have been using up a lot of jars and packets, we are already going to have to fork out for a new fridge/freezer so we didn’t want to waste the food we already had.

Bye Bye Fridge/Freezer!!

 

Mini Kickstart Review

I lost a few pounds doing the vegan challenge for a week, I’m not sure how many calories i was consuming but i definitely felt lighter (there was the little problem of a gassy belly but not going to go into that too much!!) LOL. I am hoping to return to the challenge soon.

But things happen for a reason – right?? Because i was needed earlier in the week to test the new cabin crew sandwich range (it’s a tough job but somebody has to do it!)

I tried wholemeal brown rolls….

 

English muffins…

 

Filled croissants…

 

& delicious bagels…

My favourite out of all the samples was the roast veggies and cream cheese bagel! So sweet and yummy!

The score card…(a bit like the X Factor but no feelings being hurt!)

Like i said earlier, we have lots of jars to use up, we have not bought many fresh fruit & veg this week due to lack of fridge, so we are making do until we get our new appliance at the weekend. I desperately need some fresh food though!

This evening we decided to crack open a jar of M&S Korma Sauce…

I don’t think you can really complain about the ingredients list on this one!

I decided to try and use up some of the onions that we have in the cupboard, i also had eggs which i thought were going to go to waste on my vegan challenge but as i am temporarily off the plan i got to use 2, i decided to make ‘Quick Onion Bhaji’s’ To make these bhaji’s you will need (serves 2):

  • 1.5 onions sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • 2oz plain flour
  • 0.5 tsp ground cardomom
  • 0.5 tsp cumin
  • 0.5 tsp Garam Masala

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl so the onions are coated well, then shallow fry them for approx 10 mins (5 mins each side).

One lovely meal…chicken korma, egg fried rice and onion bhaji – my husband is very happy with my efforts tonight!

 

As i feel that i may have disappointed you with failing my vegan challenge (i intend to give it another go when we have a fridge/freezer!) I thought i would treat you to some cute pics…

Cute Pic #1 my fur baby Foxy…

 

Cute pic #2 my baby nephews…aren’t they adorable!!!

Also What do you think of the new Header? Likey/No Likey? Let me know x

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 9:08 am

    Cute new header! Love it.

    Sorry about the blip in your vegan head start. Have you found that the vegan diet is helping with your bloating and IBS? To be honest, for me, there are components of the vegan diet that just made me feel much worse esp. re bloating (lentils, chickpeas etc do not love me) 😛

    xxx

    • January 20, 2011 8:18 pm

      Hi Sarah – the vegan challenge certainly helped me lose the pounds i had put on over xmas but boy was i bloated!! It was fine at home because i could undo a trouser button or 2 but at work i was in excrutiating pain!! OUCH!! I was in a lot of discomfort and the compression on my tummy actually made me feel sick one day. (To be honest i was glad when i found a reason to stop eating the lentils for a week because of the bloating). I am still determined to do a challenge of some sort, just because i need a goal to work towards at the moment. I was going to try and eat Raw for a couple of days next week as i always feel amazing the more raw i eat – i hope you are ok? xxx

  2. January 24, 2011 8:28 pm

    Im about to try the 30 day shred! I’ve read about it on a couple of other sites and considering its only 20 mins a day it looks do-able…have you heard of it?
    By the way I wasn’t aware M&S did curry sauce…mmmmm I’m hungry now 🙂

Leave a Reply

