Skip to content

Mushroom burgers homemade!!

January 21, 2011

The weather is so cold in the UK at the moment (it was –6c  [21.2F for anyone reading in the US]) when i de-iced my car this morning!!!)

But it is beautiful out there, clear skies and the sun is shining! This is the view from my work car park.

 

This evening i had one thing on my mind MUSHROOMS! I have not eaten mushrooms in ages and thought i would try to make a burger with them…i am happy to say i succeeded in making a delicious recipe which i shall be making again very soon.

Mushroom Burgers

You will need;

  • 1 slice of bread to make breadcrumbs
  • 5-6 mushrooms
  • mixed herbs
  • 1/2 tsp tahini paste
  • 1/2 tsp garlic puree
  • (ignore the egg – it was not needed in the end!)

I placed all the ingredients in my ickle food processor, i added a little extra virgin olive oil to help it all stick together and gave it a whirl…

 

I sautéed 1 small onion and some more mushrooms to have with my meal…

 

I then split the mixed ingredients into two patties and fried them in a little oil for a couple of minutes on each side…

 

I served the mushrooms up with the sautéed onions/mushrooms, carrot sticks and a little guacamole and hummus…

image

 

So moist and delicious…

 

Shop bought dips (it would be wrong to take the credit!)…

 

I used my smaller dinner plate that i purchased in Marks and Spencer, as the ones we have are massive and i am convinced that i overeat as i fill my plate with food! This plate is just a little bigger than my hand (and i actually have freakishly small hands!)

 

I washed down my dinner with the new bananaless Innocent smoothie, it is green and delicious!

In my innocent smoothie there is;

 

kiwis apples & limes 

ingredients
3 & half pressedpineapples

one third pressedpineapple

2 crushedkiwis

21 pressedgrapes

half a fresh limelime

a dash ofspinach nettle extract

and absolutely no bananas

3 good reasons to drinks this smoothie

Before all my mushroom burger making shenanigans, i decided to go to the library after work, i picked up the following titles;

  • 15 minute Everyday Pilates (with DVD)
  • Fabulous in a Fortnight as i love Monica Grenfell’s eating plans (they really make my tummy happy, no bloating or IBS – bliss!) and
  • Julie & Julia (i did get this book out last year but did not get around to reading it)

 

My local library also sells old books so i got this little read for the grand total of 50p!!!!! Bargain!!!!

It has some lovely recipes, juices and useful exercises, i look forward to having a read through…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And although i have seen the film ‘Julie & Julia’ a number of times i was very excited to see it in a bargain bucket in the co-op for £4.99, it means i can watch it any time i want, i love this film for 3 reasons;

  1. I love blogging
  2. I love food &
  3. I love France

This film has all of that!!

 

I’m off to bed with a cup of this…

 

and my books…night all x

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 9:47 pm

    Lovely looking recipe, I want to try and get into veggie burgers a bit more.

    & yay, library books! I am obsessed with going there, it’s my weekend treat!

  2. January 21, 2011 10:18 pm

    Easy vegan mushroom burgers? Count me in! I have all these things in my fridge, including mushrooms and tahini that I need to get rid of. Thanks for posting this recipe, as I totally need to try it.

    Oh, and I know all about the cold today as it was -1 degrees F by me here in the States (about -18c)

  3. January 22, 2011 9:34 am

    Those mushroom burgers look delish! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  4. Katie permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:56 am

    They look yummy! And I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who can’t be bothered with faffing around with real garlic 😉 That stuff is a lifesaver! I’m fed up with cold weather, makes dragging myself out of bed so much harder…
    And I need to see that film – have been wanting to for ages (think a trip to Blockbuster is on the cards tonight..) Have a lovely weekend 🙂 x

  5. January 22, 2011 1:59 pm

    Your mushroom burgers look amazing, I’ll definitely be trying them this week!

  6. January 23, 2011 3:55 pm

    I haven’t seen that movie but I want to, it looks good!
    That smoothie mix looks delicious, on Friday I made my first green smoothie and I loved it. I see more of them in my future!

  7. January 26, 2011 2:44 pm

    Yummy looking burgers. I recently watched Julie and Julia and totally fell in love with it. Such an amazing and inspirational story!

  8. January 27, 2011 9:00 am

    Oh this post reminded me of so much I miss from the UK – Warburtons bread – ok the bread and flour quality here in Saudi blows big time, M&S, Innocent Smoothies (wow banana free sounds yum-think I’ll need to replicate my own soon). And your burgers sound delicious. This is the second mushroom burger recipe I’ve seen this week. Must be telling me something!

Leave a Reply

