Skip to content

I’m back!

April 23, 2011

I have just had a lovely walk down memory lane, i read back on my posts from last year and think i have fallen in love with the thought of blogging regularly again. I was so much more conscious of what i ate when i blogged about it!

I have had a reason for keeping a little shy in the blog world recently, the last post i did was in regard to some major projects that i had on the go which were keeping me away from blogging…well it is time for me to reveal the most major project in my life…

20110423-082555.jpg

 

Yes, i’m 4 months pregnant!! If you follow me on Twitter you will already know this but i feel the time is right to let everyone know. I got so wrapped up in being pregnant and learning all about it, it left little room for me to blog, but i feel like i am ready to return.

The other reason i have not wanted to blog is because my food has not been brilliant (it hasn’t been all awful either) and i haven’t been as healthy as i have been to warrant a blog titled ‘Healthy Amy!’

I did not realise how hungry early pregnancy makes you but i am slowly learning to watch what i eat now that the mild queasyness has dissapeared and i have more energy to cook better meals. As i have really picked up on my healthy eating this week, i feel like the old Amy is back, for example a typical day at work i take the following food/snacks to stop me raiding the crisps/chocolate machine!

  • Breakfast – Bio-yogurt with prunes, seeds and nuts
  • Snack 1 – handful walnuts and dried apricots
  • lunch – homemade butternut squash soup with a piece of fruit
  • snack 2 – wholemeal pita with 1.5 T of caramelised onion hummus
  • Snack 3 – 2 slices malted loaf with clover spread
  • Dinner – salmon with new potatoes, baby sweetcorn, sugar snap peas/green beans
  • dessert – a mini fromage frais

I feel a lot better since i have introduced healthy filling snacks into my day, above is a lot more than what i used to eat and it takes a while to get your head round that you can eat all that food because you NEED the calories. I checked the above on myfitnesspal to ensure i was not going too mad with my calories and it was well within my calorie limit. It is such a learning curve being pregnant!

 

Have you ever heard the saying ‘Money attracts money’? well i believe this is true in a lot of things and since i sat down last week and reviewed my diet, all i want is more and more healthy foods! At the start of my pregnancy i wanted stodge, for breakfast i could easily eat 2 cinnamon and raison bagels dripping in butter, but now that actually makes me feel sick!!

Today i woke up early 7am (early for me anyway!) with one thing on my mind…GREEN MONSTER!! My baby must be craving iron because i literally jumped out my bed and ran down to the kitchen! But i didn’t want any old green monster, i wanted a peanut butter and jam one….yummy!

20110423-082612.jpg

 

In my amazing smoothie;

  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • 5 strawberries
  • 8oz alpro soya
  • 1T flax seed
  • 1 drop vanilla essence
  • 1T smooth peanut butter
  • 0.5T of reduced sugar strawberry jam
  • a sprinkle of coconut (because it looks pretty!)

20110423-082625.jpg

20110423-082637.jpg

The verdict….Holy satisfaction!!! I’m in love with this smoothie, it is a little sweet so maybe will only add a teaspoon of jam next time.

I look forward to blogging more regularly, i promise it won’t get too pregnancy related in post to come x

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    April 23, 2011 9:49 am

    Congratulations Amy! I don’t mind if your posts become baby related at all!
    Joanne (thirtyandhealthy)

    • April 23, 2011 9:51 am

      Thank you Joanne, how are you lovely? I haven’t seen any of your blogs recently, are you having a break? Please stay in touch xxx

  2. April 23, 2011 6:24 pm

    congrats to you!

  3. April 25, 2011 6:16 pm

    Congrats, Amy! What exciting news.

    Happy to see that you are back in the blog world!
    I for one welcome any preggo posts you want to do… It’s fascinating. 🙂

    ~

  4. May 5, 2011 6:11 pm

    Oh my goooodness! Congratulations 😀

    That is fabulous news, I’m really pleased for you!

    I look forward to reading all about your progress over the next few months – how exciting!

    Are you going to find out if you’ll be having a boy or a girl? Or is a surprise the way forward?

    xx Viki (previously Thin Before Thirty!)

Leave a Reply

