Skip to content

Trying to stay healthy during pregnancy…

April 25, 2011

It’s quite strange being pregnant, you can eat as healthy as you can and you still put on weight… i’m still getting my head round the fact that this is ok, i’ve weight watched most of my life so this is the first time i am just trying to eat healthy not for me to lose weight but for my little baby growing inside of me.

I am now 16 weeks and am starting to look quite pregnant – what do you think of my expanding tummy?!

 

20110425-212039.jpg

 

The husband had a couple of hours work this morning, so i wondered what to do with myself…for the past 2 years i have ran in the Exeter Half Marathon and normally this would be the weekend i do my last long run before the race which is next weekend. I obviously have not had the energy to train for the half this year but it got me thinking about how much i used to love running the 5k loop around my town – so i thought i would walk it instead. The 3 miles is quite hilly and as i have not done any much exercise recently, i knew i would have to take it easy.

Before i went for my walk i had a fruity breakfast…half a pink grapefruit, strawberries, fromage frais and a sprinkling of coconut.

SDC10762

I also had an iced coffee as it was a hot sunny day.

SDC10758

The loop starts with a HUGE hill (i can’t believe i used to run up it), the photo doesn’t really give it justice! I had to go quite slow as you shouldn’t let your heart beat too fast during exercise when pregnant.

20110425-212059.jpg

Another hill, the weather just kept getting better and better, i just kept getting hotter and hotter! Thank goodness i packed a drink in my rucksack.

20110425-212111.jpg

The last monster hill, i really felt the burn in my butt on this one!

20110425-212124.jpg

I think due to the heat, i started craving sparkling water so picked up a bottle of this…

20110425-212136.jpg

I polished half the bottle straight away…i hope this becomes one of my actual cravings as it is not the worst one i could have! I had a very red face when i got back from my walk, i did the loop in 1 hour 15 mins, i used to run it in about 40 minutes – i kept reminding myself that i wasn’t doing it for speed anymore, it’s to keep myself healthy during my pregnancy.

20110425-212146.jpg

 

I was soon starving when i got back so i mixed up a medley of foods that needed to be used up…

20110425-212156.jpg

I went for a home made pizza (made with wholemeal pita, tomato puree, feta cheese and oregano) with sugar snap peas, baby sweet corn, more feta, walnuts and dried apricots.

20110425-212203.jpg

20110425-212211.jpg

 

It was soon snoozy time, i do a lot of this since getting pregnant!

20110425-212226.jpg

 

After a half hour snooze and reading a few blogs i was ready for a snack, i went for another glass of sparkling water and a flap jack – i felt like i needed some sugar.

20110425-212233.jpg

 

When my husband got home a couple of hours later, he soon led me astray by buying me a Cadburys flake ice cream, it would have been rude for me to say ‘no’!

20110425-212241.jpg

I then joined the hubby out in the garden whilst he painted the fence, he never takes a serious photo…this is the best i am going to get of him!

20110425-212248.jpg

 

For dinner we went for a BBQ meal, without the BBQ! I made homemade burgers with cheese, onions, ketchup and mustard on a white buns. Mixed salad with French dressing, onion rings, sautéed new potatoes and a slice of garlic bread (which i did not eat as i was too full)!

20110425-212255.jpg

I’ve just polished off my last glass of sparkling water (will definitely be buying some more tomorrow) and am so ready for bed, i swear I’m falling asleep as i type. We are off to Cornwall tomorrow for a few days…we are going to a street party there on Friday to celebrate the royal wedding and then my sister and her family arrive at ours at the weekend. I hope i have internet access in Cornwall to share it all with you.

I have my 16 week midwife appointment tomorrow and hopefully we will get to hear the baby’s heart beat…i think i have started to feel little movements too but not completely sure!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 9:27 am

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! Hope your 16 week scan went well xxx

Leave a Reply

